containmentMichael Suby is set to score the upcoming CW series Containment. The show is created by Julie Plec based on the Belgian TV series Cordon and stars David Gyasi, Christina Moses, Chris Wood, Hanna Mangan-Lawrence, Kristen Gutoskie, George Young, Claudia Black and Trevor St. John. The drama takes place after a mysterious and deadly epidemic breaks out in Atlanta and a vast urban quarantine is quickly enforced, forcing those stuck on the inside to fight for their lives. Plec is also executive producing the Warner Bros TV, My So-Called Company and Eyeworks production with David Nutter (The X-FilesGame of ThronesDisturbing Behavior) who also directed the pilot episode. Read the rest of this entry »

‘Skin Trade’ Soundtrack Announced

Posted: May 23, 2015 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: , , ,

skin-tradeMovieScore Media will release a soundtrack album for the action thriller Skin Trade. The album features the film’s original music composed by Jacob Groth (The Girl with the Dragon Tatoo, UnforgettableDead Man Down). The soundtrack will be released digitally on May 26, 2015 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Audio clips are embedded after the jump. Skin Trade is directed by Ekachai Uekrongtham and stars Dolph Lundgren, Tony Jaa, Michael Jai White, Ron Perlman, Peter Weller and Celina Jade. The movie follows a detective investigating a human trafficking network run by a Serbian Gangster.  Read the rest of this entry »

brian-tylerBrian Tyler is reteaming with director D.J. Caruso on the upcoming horror thriller The Disappointments Room. The film stars Kate Beckinsale, Gerald McRaney, Lucas Till and Mel Raido. The movie is inspired by a true story and follows a wife and mother who moves into a beautiful old rural home and discovers a secret room hidden within the attic. Wentworth Miler (Prison BreakStoker) wrote the screenplay. Geyer Kosinski (Fargo TV series, Bad News Bears) is producing the project.  Read the rest of this entry »

eminemShady Records/Interscope Records have announced a soundtrack release for Antoine Fuqua’s upcoming drama Southpaw. The album features new songs created for and inspired by the film. Shady Records founder Eminem serves as the album’s executive producer and contributes the first single from the soundtrack, Phenomenal, which is produced by DJ Khalil and appears in the first trailer of the film. As previously reported, Sony Classical will release a separate soundtrack featuring James Horner’s original score from the film. Check back on this page for the details of both albums. Read the rest of this entry »

junkie-xlTom Holkenborg aka Junkie XL is launching a new YouTube tutorial series, Studio Time with Junkie XL. The series will give aspiring composers, producers, and musicians a rare glimpse into the inner workings of a Hollywood composer. The tutorial topics will range from technical advice, such as string and drum arrangements, to programming tips and advice on how to channel your musical influences. The project is an extension of Holkenborg’s previous teaching experience as an associate professor at ARTEZ, the Dutch music conservatorium where he developed and taught a four year music program based on all of the elements of his career. Read the rest of this entry »

ennio-morriconeDeadline is reporting that director Giuseppe Tornatore is teaming up with Mandragora Group (Beyond The Hills) and Piano B Produzioni for a documentary based on the life and work of legendary film composer Ennio Morricone. The movie is is said to feature interviews and a narrative piece alongside, which will  “highlight a side of Morricone that has never been revealed, including key moments, anecdotes, and situations which have been essential steps of the artistic and personal path that Morricone’s life has taken.”  Morricone and Tornatore have collaborated on such features as Cinema Paradiso, MalenaBaariaThe Best Offer and The Legend of 1900, for which the composer won a Golden Globe Award, as well as the upcoming The Correspondence starring Jeremy Irons & Olga Kurylenko.  Read the rest of this entry »

Two new movies are opening this holiday weekend:

tomorrowlandOpening in most theaters is the mystery adventure Tomorrowland directed by Brad Bird and starring George Clooney, Hugh Laurie, Britt Robertson, Raffey Cassidy, Tim McGraw, Judy Greer, Kathryn Hahn, Keegan Michael-Key and Thomas Robinson. The film’s original music is composed by Michael Giacchino (Star Trek, Up, The IncrediblesLostRatatouille). Walt Disney Records has released a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s score digitally earlier this week and a CD version will be released on June 2. Visit our soundtrack announcement for the full album details. Also visit WWMR’s website for an interview with the composer about his work on the project and Trailer Addict for another interview from the film’s premiere at Disneyland.

poltergeistAlso opening wide is the horror thriller Poltergeist directed by Gil Kenan, produced by Sam Raimi and starring Sam Rockwell, Rosemarie DeWitt, Jared Harris and Jane Adams. Marc Streitenfeld (PrometheusAmerican GangsterThe GreyRobin Hood) has composed the film’s original music. Sony Classical has released a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s score earlier this week. Check out our previous news article for the full album details. Also visit Variety for an interview with Streitenfeld about his work on the film. Read the rest of this entry »

the-librariansVarese Sarabande has announced the details of the first soundtrack release for the TNT original series The Librarians. The album features selections from the show’s original score composed by Joseph LoDuca (Xena: Warrior PrincessThe Evil DeadHercules: The Legendary JourneysSpartacus, Leverage). The soundtrack will be released on June 23, 2015 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. The Librarians is executive produced by Dean Devlin and stars Rebecca Romijn, Christian Kane, Lindy Booth, John Kim and John Larroquette, Noah Wyle, Bob Newhart and Jane Curtin. Read the rest of this entry »

infinitely-polar-bearThe details of the soundtrack album for the indie comedy drama Infinitely Polar Bear have been revealed. The album features the songs from the film by artists including George Harrison, Ike & Tina Turner, Brenton Wood, Jerry ‘Swamp Dogg’ Williams, Snooks Eaglin, China Forbes, The Doc Watson Family & more. Also included are four tracks from the film’s original score composed by Theodore Shapiro (The Devil Wears Prada, Spy, Tropic Thunder, St. Vincent). The soundtrack will be released digitally on June 16, 2015 and physically a couple of weeks later. Visit Amazon to pre-order the CD. Infinitely Polar Bear is written and directed by Maya Forbes, produced by J.J. Abrams and stars Mark Ruffalo, Zoe Saldana, Imogene Wolodarsky, Ashley Aufderheide, Beth Dixon and Keir Dullea. Read the rest of this entry »

neil-davidgeNeil Davidge is currently scoring the upcoming drama A Hundred Streets. The film is directed by Jim O’Hanlon and stars Idris Elba, Gemma Arterton, Samantha Barks, Ken Stott, Charlie Creed-Miles, Steve Mackintosh, Tom Cullen and Emma Rigby. The movie centers around a group of London residents who survive the grind of everyday life as well as those living opulent lifestyles, whose existences interconnect as they face dramatic change. Leon Butler wrote the screenplay and is also producing the project with Elba, Pippa Cross (The Hole, Desert Dancer), Carl F Pauwels, Farah Durrani and Ros Hubbard. Read the rest of this entry »