Guaranteed to top the weekend box office is the final part in The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 2 directed by Bill Condon and starring Kristen Stewart, Robert Pattinson and Taylor Lautner. The film’s music is composed by Carter Burwell.┬áSummit Entertainment, Chop Shop Records and Atlantic Records have released a soundtrack album featuring the songs from and inspired by the film by artists including Passion Pit, Ellie Goulding, Green Day and Feist. Check out our previous article for the full album details. The label will also release a separate soundtrack featuring Burwell’s score on November 27. Click here for the full details. Also visit Examiner for an interview with the composer on his work on the film, as well as his official website for his notes and comments on the score.

Opening in limited release is the comedy drama Silver Linings Playbook directed by David O. Russell and starring Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro, Julia Stiles, Jacki Weaver and Chris Tucker. Danny Elfman has composed the film’s score. Sony Masterworks has released a soundtrack featuring the songs featured in the film by Stevie Wonder, Alabama Shakes, alt-K, Les Paul & Mary Ford, Rare Earth and Bob Dylan & Johnny Cash, as well as two tracks by Elfman. Check out our soundtrack announcement for audio clips. Also available is a separate album featuring Elfman’s full score. Audio clips and more information can be checked out here.

Also opening in select cities is a new film adaptation of Anna Karenina directed by Joe Wright and starring Keira Knightley, Jude Law, Aaron Johnson, Matthew MacFadyen, Kelly Macdonald and Olivia Williams. The film’s music is composed by Dario Marianelli who has previously scored the director’s Pride and Prejudice, Atonement and The Soloist. Decca Records has released a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s music. Check out our previous news article for audio clips and more information. Also visit ASCAP’s website for a short interview with the composer and Focus Features’ website for an article on the music.

Expanding to more cities after an opening on a single screen last weekend is the documentary Chasing Ice directed by Jeff Orlowski about environmental photographer James Balog who deploys revolutionary time-lapse cameras to capture a multi-year record of the world’s changing glaciers. J. Ralph (Lucky Number Slevin, The Cove) has composed the film’s music. Universal Republic and Lava Records will release a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s score and the original end credits song Before My Time performed by Scarlett Johansson and violinist Joshua Bell next week. Check out our soundtrack announcement for the full details.

Finally, also opening in limited release is the indie drama Price Check written and directed by Michael Walker and starring Parker Posey, Eric Mabius, Annie Parisse, Josh Pais, Cheyenne Jackson and Edward Herrmann. The film’s music is composed by Dean Wareham and Britta Phillips (The Squid and the Whale). No soundtrack album has been announced. The film about a family man who copes with rising debt and a job he hates premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and has been picked up by IFC Films for domestic distribution. The movie is also available on VOD. To learn more about the indie production, visit IFC’s official website.