Perseverance Records has announced a release of the unused score for Roman Polanski’s 1974 classic movie Chinatown starring Jack Nicholson and Faye Dunaway. The music is composed by Phillip Lambro. The music was ultimately rejected by Paramount Pictures and replaced by a score by Jerry Goldsmith who ended up receiving one of the film’s eleven Academy Award nominations. In addition to the unused score, the album also features the two concert pieces Structures for String Orchestra and Music for Wind, Brass and Percussion. The limited edition soundtrack album is now available to order in the label’s online store, where you can also listen to the main titles of the score.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Main Titles (1M1)
2. Tailing Hollis (1M2)
3. The Boy on a Horse (5M1)
4. Noah Cross (7M1)
5. Mariachi Source (7M1X)
6. Orchard Chase (8M1)
7. One Night with Evelyn (9M2-10M1)
8. Finding the Captive (10M2)
9. The Last of Ida Sessions (11M1)
10. Welcome to Chinatown (14M1)
11. Evelyn Shot (14M2)
12. Forget It, Jake (14M3)
13. End Titles (14M4)
14. Trailer Music

Bonus Tracks:
Structures for String Orchestra
15. Moderati
16. Lively
Music for Wind, Brass & Percussion
17. Lento misterioso
18. Allegro con fuoco