lorne-balfeLorne Balfe has signed on to score the upcoming ITV original series Marcella. The show is created by Hans Rosenfeldt (The Bridge) & Nicola Larder and stars Anna Friel, Laura Carmichael, Nicholas Pinnock, Ian Puleston-Davies, Nina Sosanya, Ray Panthaki, Jamie Bamber, Sinead Cusack, Patrick Baladi and Harry Lloyd. The drama is set in contemporary London and follows a detective who returns to the Metropolitan Police’s Murder Squad after a 10-year long career break to start a family. Rosenfeldt and Larder are also executive producing the project with Tony Wood. Charles Martin (New Worlds, Skins), Jonathan Teplitzky (The Railway ManBroadchurch) and Henrik Georgsson (The Bridge) are directing the 8-part series. Marcella will premiere later this year on ITV.

Balfe’s other recent scoring credits include Michael Bay’s 13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi, which is currently playing nationwide. The composer also has scored Michael McDonagh’s War on Everyone, which will premiere next month at the Berlin Film Festival.