the-revenantThe details of the soundtrack album for Alejandro G. Inarritu’s dramatic thriller The Revenant have been revealed. The album features the film’s original music by Academy Award winner Ryuichi Sakamoto (The Last EmperorSnake EyesLittle Buddha) and Alva Noto. The National member Bryce Dessner has also contributed additional music. The soundtrack will be released digitally on December 25, 2015 and physically (on CD and vinyl) in early 2016 by Milan Records. Visit Amazon to pre-order the CD. The Revenant starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy, Domhnall Gleeson & Will Poulter takes place in the 1800s and follows an explorer who is abandoned by his hunting team after a brutal bear attack and must withstand the elements and the wilderness to survive and return to his family. The thriller will be released in Los Angeles and New York on December 25 before expanding nationwide on January 8. Visit the official movie website for updates on the film.

Here’s the album track list:

1. The Revenant Main Theme
2. Hawk Punished
3. Carrying Glass
4. First Dream
5. Killing Hawk
6. Discovering River
7. Goodbye to Hawk
8. Discovering Buffalo
9. Hell Ensemble
10. Glass and Buffalo Warrior Travel
11. Arriving at Fort Kiowa
12. Church Dream
13. Powaqa Rescue
14. Imagining Buffalo
15. The Revenant Theme 2
16. Second Dream
17. Out of Horse
18. Looking For Glass
19. Cat & Mouse
20. The Revenant Main Theme Atmospheric
21. Final Fight
22. The End
23. The Revenant Theme (Alva Noto Remodel)