Four new movies are opening in wide release this weekend:

Opening in most theaters is the Aardman Animation’s and Sony Pictures Animation’s 3D stop-motion animated feature The Pirates! Band of Misfits directed by Peter Lord (Wallace & Gromit, Chicken Run) & Jeff Newitt and featuring the voice talent of Hugh Grant, Salma Hayek, Jeremy Piven, Imelda Staunton and David Tennant. The film’s score is composed by Theodore Shapiro. A soundtrack album featuring the composer’s music has been released earlier this week on Madison Gates Records and is available exclusively on iTunes. Visit our soundtrack announcement to find out more about the release.

Also opening wide is the period thriller The Raven directed by James McTeigue (V for Vendetta) and starring John Cusack, Alice Eve and Brendan Gleeson. The score for the film about the final days of Edgar Allan Poe is composed by Lucas Vidal. A soundtrack album featuring Vidal’s original music has been released by Relativity Music Group. Visit iTunes to download the album and check out our previous article for the full album details, including audio clips. Also visit Film School Rejects for a lengthy video interview with the composer about his work on the movie.

Another wide release this weekend is Universal Pictures’ romantic comedy The Five-Year Engagement directed by Nicholas Stoller, produced by Judd Apatow and starring Emily Blunt, Jason Segel, Alison Brie, Rhys Ifans, Chris Pratt and Mindy Kaling. Michael Andrews has composed the score for the film. Back Lot Music has released a five-track soundtrack EP featuring one track from the score, as well as the songs Cucurrucucu Paloma performed by actor Chris Pratt, Crazy Love by Audra Mae, Into the Mystic by The Swell Season and When That Evening Sun Goes Down by Brett Dennen. Check out our precious news article for audio clips and more information.

The final wide release of the week is the thriller Safe directed by Boaz Yakin and starring Jason Statham, Chris Sarandon and Robert John Burke. The movie’s original score is written by Mark Mothersbaugh. No soundtrack album has been announced at this point. Safe follows a former elite agent who rescues a young Chinese girl carrying vital secrets that both the Chinese and Russian Mafia are intent on obtaining in order to blackmail world governments. To find out more about the thriller produced by Lawrence Bender (Pulp Fiction), as well as Dana Brunetti & Kevin Spacey (The Social Network), visit the official movie website.

Opening in limited release is the comedy drama Bernie co-written and directed by Richard Linklater and starring Jack Black, Shirley MacLaine and Matthew McConaughey. Graham Reynolds who previously worked with the director on 2006’s A Scanner Darkly has composed the film’s music. Lakeshore Records will be releasing a soundtrack album for the movie on May 29, 2012. Check back on this website for the details to be revealed soon. To find out more about Bernie, which centers on mortician in a small-town in Texas who strikes up a friendship with a wealthy widow, visit the official movie website.

Also opening in limited release is the sci-fi drama Sound of my Voice co-written and directed by Zal Batmanglij and starring Brit Marling, Christopher Denham and Nicole Vicius. The film’s music is composed by the director’s brother Rostam Batmanglij who is best known as a member and producer of the indie rock band Vampire Weekend makes his major feature scoring debut on the film, which premiered at last year’s Sundance Film Festival, where it was acquired by Fox Searchlight. No soundtrack album is available. To learn more about the film and watch the first twelve minutes of the drama, visit the official movie website.