Only one new movie is opening nationwide this week:

dawn-of-the-planet-of-the-apesExpected to top the weekend box office is the sci-fi adventure sequel Dawn of the Planet of the Apes directed by Matt Reeves and starring Andy Serkis, Jason Clarke, Gary Oldman, Keri Russell, Toby Kebbell, Kodi Smith-McPhee, Enrique Murciano and Kirk Acevedo. The film’s original music is composed by Michael Giacchino (UpStar TrekLost) who previously collaborated with the director on Cloverfield and Let Me In. Sony Masterworks has released a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s music. Check out our previous article for the full details and click here to listen to audio clips. Also visit Reddit for a recent AMA with Giacchino and Reeves about their work on the film.

boyhoodOpening in limited release is the indie drama Boyhood written and directed by Richard Linklater and starring Ellar Coltrane, Patricia Arquette, Lorelei Linklater and Ethan Hawke. The film doesn’t feature an original score. Nonesuch Records has released a soundtrack album including the songs featured in the movie by artists such as Coldplay, Vampire Weekend, Bob Dylan, Arcade Fire, Wilco, The Black Keys, Gnarls Barkley, The Flaming Hips, Jeff Tweedy, The Hives, Cat Power and Paul McCartney & Wings. Check out our soundtrack announcement for the full album details.

a-long-way-downOpening in New York before expanding to additional markets within the next couple of weeks is the comedy drama A Long Way Down directed by Pascal Chaumeil, based on the novel by Nick Hornby and starring Pierce Brosnan, Toni Collette, Aaron Paul, Rosamund Pike, Sam Neill and Imogen Poots. The film’s original music is composed by Dario Marianelli (AtonementPride and Prejudice). Decca Records has released a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s music, as well as the songs from the film by artists including Cake, Manu Chao, Alabama Shakes, Daughter and The Irrepressibles. Check out our previous news article for more information about the album and the movie.

rageAlso opening in limited release is the action thriller Rage (also known as Tokarev) directed by Paco Cabezas and starring Nicolas Cage, Rachel Nichols and Danny Glover. Laurent Eyquem (Copperhead, Winnie Mandela) has composed the film’s original music. Caldera Records will release a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s music. Check back on this page for the full album details. Rage follows a respectable businessman who rounds up his old crew to help him find his kidnapped teenage daughter. The movie is being released by RLJ/Image Entertainment and is also available on VOD.

SONY-LHOS-01_27x40_hires_041314 .inddOpening in New York and Los Angeles is the indie comedy Land Ho! written and directed by Martha Stephens, Aaron Katz and starring Paul Eenhoorn and Earl Lynn Nelson. The film’s original music is composed by Keegan DeWitt (Quiet CityThis is Martin Bonner). No soundtrack album has been announced yet. Land Ho! follows a pair of 60-something ex-brothers-in-law sets off on a road trip through Iceland, hoping to reclaim their youth. The comedy premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and is being released by Sony Pictures Classics. To learn more about the film, visit the official movie website.

road-to-palomaAnother limited release this week is the thriller Road to Paloma directed by Jason Momoa who also stars in the movie alongside Robert Homer Mollohan, Lisa Bonet, Sarah Shahi, Michael Raymond-James, Chris Browning, Timothy V. Murphy, Steve Reevis and Wes Studi. Ohad Benchetrit and Justin Small have composed the film’s original music. A soundtrack album featuring the composers’ score, as well as songs by artists including Michael Hayes, Griffin Young, Radio Birds, The Treasures & more is now available to download on iTunesRoad to Paloma follows a Native American on the run after avenging his mother’s murder. The thriller is being released by WWF Studios and Anchor Bay Films and is now also available on VOD.