Laura Karpman (StepSet It UpWhy We Hate) & Raphael Saadiq (Insecure, Black Nativity) are the composers of the new HBO original series Lovecraft Country. The show is developed by Misha Green based on Matt Ruff ‘s novel of the same title and stars Jurnee Smollett, Jonathan Majors, Aunjanue Ellis, Abbey Lee, Jada Harris, Wunmi Mosaku and Michael Kenneth Williams, as well as recurring guests Courtney B. Vance, Jamie Chung, Jamie Neumann, Jordan Patrick Smith and Tony Goldwyn. The horror drama follows Atticus Freeman as he journeys with his childhood friend and his uncle on a road trip from Chicago across 1950s Jim Crow America in search of his missing father. Green is also executive producing the  Warner Bros. Television production with J.J. Abrams (Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Star Trek), Jordan Peele (Get Out, Us), Bill Carraro (Escape at Dannemora), Yann Demange (White Boy Rick, ’71), Daniel Sackheim (The Americans, Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan) and David Knoller (Big Love). Karpman & Saadiq have previously collaborated with Green on the WGN America series Underground. Lovecraft Country will premiere this Sunday, August 16 on HBO. Visit the official show website for updates.

Among Karpman’s other upcoming projects is Eleanor Coppola romantic comedy drama Love is Love is Love, which will premiere next month at the 2020 Deauville Film Festival. Saadiq continues to score HBO’s Insecure, which will return for a fifth season in 2021.

  1. Scott says:

    Will there be a soundtrack?