Raphael Saadiq has recently scored the new Netflix original movie The After Party. The film is written and directed by Ian Edelman (Puerto Ricans in Paris, How to Make It in America) and stars Kyle Harvey, Harrison Holzer, Teyana Taylor, Blair Underwood, Jordan Rock and Shelley Hennig. The comedy follows an aspiring rapper and his best friend/manager who have one night to bounce back from embarrassment and make their dreams of hip-hop stardom come true. Jake Stein, Jamie Patricof (Blue Valentine, Captain Fantastic), Heather Parry (Just Go With It), Trevor Engelson (Snowfall, Remember Me) and Doug Banker are producing the project. The After Party will premiere on August 24, 2018 on Netflix.

Saadiq (Black Nativity, Step) also continues to score HBO’s Insecure, which just returned for its third season this past Sunday.