the-sonNathan Barr is scoring the upcoming AMC original series The Son. The show is created by Philipp Meyer, Lee Shipman & Brian McGreevy and stars Pierce Brosnan, Jacob Lofland, David Wilson Barnes, Jess Weixler, Henry Garrett, Elizabeth Frances, Zahn McClarnon, Paola Nunez, James Parks, Carlos Bardem and Sydney Lucas. The drama is based on Meyer’s novel of the same title and revolves a Texas family’s and rise and fall over multiple generations, concurrent with America’s birth as a superpower. The creators are also executive producing the AMC Studios and Sonar production with showrunner Kevin Murphy (Defiance, Caprica). Barr has previously collaborated with Shipman & McGreevy on the Netflix original series Hemlock Grove. The Son will premiere on April 8, 2017 on AMC. Visit the official show website for updates.

Barr (True BloodHostel) is also composing the music for the fifth and final season of FX’s The Americans, which will premiere on March 7. The composer also recently scored the first season of Amazon’s Sneaky Pete (taking over from Dan Romer who composed the music for the original pilot episode), which premiered this past week.