southside-with-youColumbia Records will release a soundtrack album for the drama Southside with You. The album features the original song Start by John Legend (who serves as an executive producer on the movie), as well as tracks by Janet Jackson, The Delfonics, Soul II Soul, Slick Rick, Bill Withers, Al B. Sure!, Martha Reeves & The Vandellas and Teddy Pendergrass. The soundtrack will be released digitally tomorrow, August 26. Southside with You is written and directed by Richard Tanne and stars Tika Sumpter, Vanessa Bell Calloway, Parker Sawyers and Jerod Haynes. The movie recounts the eventful summer day in 1989 when a young law firm associate named Barack Obama tried to woo lawyer Michelle Robinson during a daylong date. The drama premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and will be released in theaters this weekend by Roadside Attractions. Visit the official movie website to learn more about the film.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Start – John Legend (5:09)
2. Miss You Much – Janet Jackson (4:14)
3. A Love Like Yours (Don’t Come Knocking Everyday) – Martha Reeves & The Vandellas (2:29)
4. Hey Young World – Slick Rick (4:20)
5. Keep On Movin’ – Soul II Soul (6:00)
6. Nite And Day – Al B. Sure! (3:57)
7. Moanin’ and Groanin’ – Bill Withers (2:59)
8. Close the Door – Teddy Pendergrass (5:26)
9. I Gave to You (Remastered) – The Delfonics (5:54)