Sony Legacy will be releasing a soundtrack album for the documentary Searching for Sugar Man. The album includes a selection of songs by the film’s title character Rodriguez, which are featured in the movie but originally found on his records Cold Fact and Coming from Reality. The soundtrack will be released on July 24, 2012 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Audio clips can be checked out below. Searching for Sugar Man directed by Malik Bendjelloul tells the story of Rodriguez, a 70′s US rock icon whose albums were critically well-received, but never achieved commercial success and faded away into obscurity among rumors of a gruesome death until a record made its way to South Africa, where his music became a phenomenal success. The film produced by Simon Chinn (Man on Wire) premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and has been picked up by Sony Pictures Classics. The movie will be released on July 27 in LA and New York and expands to more cities in the following weeks. Visit the official movie website for more information on the documentary.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. Sugar Man
2. Crucify Your Mind
3. Cause
4. I Wonder
5. Like Janis
6. This Is Not A Song, It’s An Outburst: Or, The Establishment Blues
7. Can’t Get Away
8. I Think Of You
9. Inner City Blues
10. Sandrevan Lullaby – Lifestyles
11. Street Boy
12. A Most Disgusting Song
13. I’ll Slip Away
14. Jane S. Piddy