Premiering tonight is the new Starz original series Counterpart created by Justin Marks and starring J.K. Simmons, Olivia Williams, Harry Lloyd, Nazanin Boniadi, Nicholas Pinnock, Sara Serraiocco, Ulrich Thomson, Mido Hamada, Stephen Rea, Richard Schiff and Kenneth Choi. The show’s original music is composed by Jeff Russo (Fargo, Star Trek: Discovery, The Night Of, Legion, Snowfall). Check out our scoring assignment announcement and the official show website to learn more about the series, which will air Sunday nights on Starz. 

Also premiering tonight is the new Fox drama The Resident created by Amy Holden Jones, Hayley Schore & Roshan Sethi and starring Matt Czuchry, Bruce Greenwood, Emily VanCamp, Manish Dayal and Shaunette Wilson. Jon Ehrlich & Jason Derlatka (House, Parenthood, Goliath, The Slap, About a Boy) are composing the show’s original music. Click here to for more information about the show, which follows a young doctor who begins his first day under the supervision of a tough, brilliant senior resident and will air Monday nights son Fox.

Premiering tomorrow, January 22, is the new TNT original series The Alienist developed by Cary Fukunaga based on Caleb Carr’s novel and starring Daniel Brühl, Luke Evans, Dakota Fanning, Brian Geraghty, Robert Wisdom, Douglas Smith, Matthew Shear, Matt Lintz, Brian Geraghty and Q’orianka Kilcher. The show’s original music is composed by Rupert Gregson-Williams (Wonder WomanHacksaw RidgeThe Legend of TarzanThe CrownOver the Hedge). Lakeshore Records will release a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s score next Friday. Check out our soundtrack announcement for the full album details and to learn more about the series.

Also premiering tomorrow is the HBO original series Mosaic created by Steven Soderbergh & Ed Solomon and starring Garrett Hedlund, Frederick Weller, Beau Bridges, Paul Reubens, Jennifer Ferrin, Devin Ratray, Michael Cerveris and James Ransone. David Holmes who previously collaborated with Soderbergh on the Ocean’s trilogy, Out of Sight, Haywire and Logan Lucky has composed the 6-parter’s original music. The drama, which was first released as an iOS/Android app this past November, will air on five consecutive days this week on HBO. Visit the official show website for more information.

Premiering on Tuesday, January 23, is the Canadian crime drama Bellevue created by Jane Maggs & Adrienne Mitchell and starring Anna Paquin, Shawn Doyle, Allen Leech, Madison Ferguson, Sharon Taylor, Billy MacLellan, Vincent Leclerc, Janine Thériault, Joe Cobden, Victoria Sanchez and Sadie O’Neil. The show’s original music is composed by Mario Sevigny (The Art of More, Mohawk Girls). The series, which revolves around a mystery in a small blue-collar town, premiered in Canada on CBC last year and is making its U.S. debut on WGN America. Visit the official show website for updates.

Premiering on Wednesday, January 24, is the Paramount Network limited series Waco created by John Erick Dowdle & Drew Dowdle and starring Michael Shannon, Taylor Kitsch, John Leguizamo, Andrea Riseborough, Rory Culkin, Melissa Benoist, Paul Sparks, Shea Whigham, Camryn Manheim and Julia Garner. Jeff Russo is co-scoring the show with Jordan Gagne and has also composed the main title theme. Check out our previous news article for more information.

Premiering on Friday, January 26, is the period drama Britannia created by Jez Butterworth, Tom Butterworth & James Richardson and starring Kelly Reilly, David Morrissey, Zoë Wanamaker, Nikolaj Lie Kaas and Eleanor Worthington-Cox. The show’s original music is composed by Neil Davidge (PushUnleashedMonsters: Dark ContinentHalo 4Hard Sun). 7Hz Productions has released a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s score. Check out our previous article for the full album details and to learn more about the series, which is premiering in the U.S. on Amazon Prime.

Missing from last week’s TV music roundup was DreamWorks Animation’s new Netflix original series Trolls: The Beat Goes On! developed by Matthew Ireland Beans and featuring the voices of Amanda Leighton, Skylar Astin, Ron Funches, David Fynn, David Koechner, Sean T. Krishnan and Sam Lerner. Alex Geringas (Home: Adventures with Tip & Oh, Hanni & Nanni) is composing the original score for the show based on DreamWorks Animation’s 2015 feature Trolls. Jeannie Lurie, Mia Minichiello & Matias Mora have composed the main title theme and Alana Da Fonseca & The Boom Clack have provided the original songs to the animated show, which premiered this past Friday and is now available to stream on Netflix.