scl_receptionThis afternoon, the Society of Composers & Lyricists (SCL) hosted its annual reception honoring the Academy Award-nominated composers and songwriters in the Best Original Score and Best Original Song category at the home of composer John Cacavas in Beverly Hills. All five nominated composers in the score category attended the event: John Williams (Lincoln), Dario Marianelli (Anna Karenina), Alexandre Desplat (Argo), Mychael Danna (Life of Pi) and Thomas Newman (Skyfall). Among the attendants in the Best Original Song category were J. Ralph (nominated for the song Before My Time from Chasing Ice), Claude-Michel Schonberg, Herbert Kretzmer & Alain Boublil (nominated for the original song Suddenly from Les Miserables), Mychael Danna and Bombay Jayashri (who received a nomination for Pi’s Lullaby from Life of Pi), Walter Murphy (nominated for the song Everybody Needs a Best Friend from Ted with Seth MacFarlane) and Paul Epworth (nominated for the title song of Skyfall with Adele). Following a speech by Charles Bernstein, SCL president Dan Foliart introduced all nominees who briefly spoke to the audience. Also in attendance were SCL ambassadors Alan & Marilyn Bergman, Charles Fox, Patrick Williams and Arthur Hamilton.