Three new movies are opening nationwide this weekend:

Opening in most theaters is the animated feature Leap! directed by Éric Summer & Éric Warin and starring Elle Fanning, Nat Wolff, Maddie Ziegler, Mel Brooks, Kate McKinnon & Carly Rae Jepsen. The film’s original score is composed by Klaus Badelt (Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black PearlThe Time Machine, The Recruit). Gaumont has released a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s score, as well as original songs by Christopher Braide. Check out our previous news article for the full album details.

Also opening wide is the biographical drama Birth of the Dragon directed by George Nolfi and starring Phillip Ng, Yu Xia, Jin Xing, Qu JingJing, Ron Yuan and Billy Magnussen. H. Scott Salinas (Cartel LandThe Ivory Game) and Reza Safinia (Filly BrownThe Trust) have composed the film’s original music. Lakeshore Records has released a soundtrack album featuring the composers’ score. Check out our soundtrack announcement for the full album details.

The third wide release this week it the faith-based drama All Saints directed by Steve Gomer and starring John Corbett and Cara Buono. The film’s original score is composed by Conni Ellisor and John Mock. Reunion Records has released a soundtrack album featuring five tracks from the composers’ score, as well as the songs from the movie. Check out our previous article for the full album details.

Opening in limited release it the indie drama Beach Rats written and directed by Eliza Hittman and starring Harris Dickinson, Madeline Weinstein and Kate Hodge. Nicholas Leone has composed the film’s original music. No word on a soundtrack release. The movie follows a teenager on the outer edges of Brooklyn as he struggles to reconcile his competing sexual desires. The drama premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and is being released by Neon. Visit the official movie website for more information.

Also opening in limited release is the  indie thriller Bushwick directed by Cary Murnion & Jonathan Milott and starring Brittany Snow, Dave Bautista, Angelic Zambrana, Jeremie Harris, Myra Lucretia Taylor, Alex Breaux and Arturo Castro. The film’s original music is composed by hip hop artist Aesop Rock. Lakeshore Records has released a soundtrack album featuring the score. Check out our soundtrack album announcement for the full album details and to learn more about the RLJ Entertainment release.

Also opening in select theaters is the Spanish animated feature Deep directed by Julio Soto Gúrpide and featuring the voices of Justin Felbinger, Stephen Ezra Hughes, Lindsey Alena, Elisabeth Catherine Gray, Anna Vocino and Dwight Schultz. Fernando Velazquez (The ImpossibleMamaThe OrphanageHercules) has composed the film’s original music. A soundtrack album featuring the composer’s score is expected to be released later this year. The movie is being released in the U.S. by Lionsgate.

Opening in select theaters while also premiering on Netflix today is the supernatural thriller Death Note directed by Adam Wingard and starring Nat Wolff, Margaret Qualley, Lakeith Stanfield, Willem Dafoe and Shea Whigham. he film’s original music is composed by Atticus Ross (The Social NetworkGone GirlPatriots Day) and Leopold Ross (The Book of EliTriple 9). No soundtrack album has been announced yet. Check out our scoring assignment announcement to learn more about the film, which is now available to stream on Netflix.

  1. Nardog says:

    The US release of the Ballerina (Leap!) soundtrack has “Rainbow” by Liz Huett instead of “Confident” by Demi Lovato.