a-cure-for-wellnessMilan Records will release a soundtrack album for the psychological thriller A Cure for Wellness. The album features the film’s original music composed by Benjamin Wallfisch (Lights Out, Hidden Figures, The Escapist, Desert Dancer). The soundtrack will be released digitally, on CD and on vinyl on February 17, 2017. Visit Amazon to pre-order the vinyl version. A Cure for Wellness is directed by Gore Verbinski (Pirates of the CaribbeanThe Ring) and stars Dane DeHaan, Jason Isaacs and Mia Goth. The movie follows an ambitious young executive who is sent to retrieve his company’s CEO from an idyllic but mysterious “wellness center” at a remote location in the Swiss Alps and soon starts to suspect that the spa’s miraculous treatments are not what they seem. Read the rest of this entry »

return-of-xander-cageVarese Sarabande will release a soundtrack album for the action sequel xXx: Return of Xander Cage. The album features the film’s original music composed by Brian Tyler (Fast & Furious series, Avengers: Age of UltronIron Man 3Thor: The Dark WorldNow You See Me) and Robert Lydecker (Sleepy HollowDesignated Survivor). The soundtrack will be released on January 20, 2017 and will be available for pre-order on Amazon within the next few weeks. Check back on this page for the full album details. Read the rest of this entry »

jeff-cardoniJeff Cardoni has been hired to score the upcoming action comedy Once Upon a Time in Venice. The film is written and directed by Mark & Robb Cullen (Cop Out, Back in the Game) and stars Bruce Willis, Jason Momoa, Thomas Middleditch, Famke Janssen, John Goodman, Stephanie Sigman, Adrian Martinez, Kal Penn, Emily Robinson, Tyga, Adam Goldberg, Ken Davitian, David Arquette and Victor Orti. The movie follows an L.A.-based private investigator whose professional and personal worlds collide after his loving pet Buddy is stolen by a notorious gang. The Cullen brothers are also producing the project with Voltage Pictures’ Nicolas Chartier (The Hurt Locker, Killer Joe), Zev Foreman (Good Kill, Colossal) and Laura Ford. Read the rest of this entry »

‘Sing’ Deluxe Edition Soundtrack Details

Posted: December 7, 2016 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: , ,

sing-deluxeThe details for the deluxe edition version of the soundtrack album for Illumination Entertainment’s Sing have been revealed. The album features the songs from the animated movie performed the voice cast, including seven more tracks not featured on the regular edition. The soundtrack will be released digitally and physically this Friday, December 9 by Republic Records. Visit Amazon to pre-order the CD and click here to download the album. As previously reported, a separate soundtrack featuring the film’s score by Joby Talbot will also be released. Sing directed by Garth Jennings and starring Matthew McConaughey, Reese Witherspoon, Scarlett Johansson, Seth MacFarlane, Taron Egerton, Tori Kelly, John C. Reilly, Jennifer Saunders, Nick Kroll and Peter Serafinowicz will be released in theaters nationwide on December 21, 2016 by Universal Pictures. Read the rest of this entry »

star-foxJames Levine is composing the original score for the new Fox drama Star. The show is created by Lee Daniels (EmpireThe ButlerPrecious) & Tom Donaghy (The Whole Truth) and stars Queen Latifah, Benjamin Bratt, Jude Demorest, Ryan Destiny and Brittany O’Grady. The series revolves around three talented singers, desperate for a new start and with ambitions of stardom, as they navigate the cut-throat music business on their road to success. Daniels and Donaghy are also executive producing the 20th Century Fox Television production with Charles Murray (Luke Cage), Pamela Oas Williams (Lee Daniels’ The Butler) and Effie Brown (Dear White People).  Read the rest of this entry »

midnight-sunA soundtrack album has been released for the French/Swedish thriller series Midnight Sun. The album features selections from the show’s original music composed by Nathaniel Mechaly (Taken series, Colombiana, Transporter: The Series, The Grandmaster). Also included are tracks by Sofia Jannok and Björn Stein. The soundtrack is now available to download on Amazon, where you can also listen to audio samples. Midnight Sun is directed by Mans Marlind & Bjorn Stein (The Bridge) and stars Leila Bekhti and Gustaf Hammarsten. The drama follows a French detective who teams up with a Swedish detective to investigate the bestial murder of a French citizen in a remote mining community in the far north of Sweden. Read the rest of this entry »

toby-chuToby Chu has signed on to score the upcoming horror thriller Wish Upon. The film is directed by John Leonetti (Annabelle) and stars Joey King, Ryan Phillippe, Elisabeth Rohm, Shannon Purser, Ki Hong Lee, Sherilyn Fenn, Sydney Park, Alice Lee, Mitchell Slaggert and Josephine Langford. The movie follows a 16-year-old misfit who finds a magic box that promises a chance at the life she’s always wanted only to discover that each wish would demand a deadly payment. Barbara Marshall (Viral) has written the screenplay. Sherryl Clark (Cloverfield, Plush) is producing the project for Busted Shark Productions. Read the rest of this entry »

59th Grammy Awards Nominations Announced

Posted: December 6, 2016 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

grammysThe nominations for the 59th Grammy Awards have been announced. Here are the nominations in the film music-related categories:

Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media

  • Bridge of Spies (Thomas Newman) – Hollywood Records
  • The Hateful Eight (Ennio Morricone) – Decca
  • The Revenant (Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto) – Milan Records
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens (John Williams) – Walt Disney Records
  • Stranger Things Volume 1 (Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein) – Lakeshore Records
  • Stranger Things Volume 2 (Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein) – Lakeshore Records

Read the rest of this entry »

nima-fakhraraNima Fakhrara has been tapped to score the upcoming dystopian drama Desolate. The film is directed by Frederick Cipoletti and stars Callan Mulvey, Tyson Ritter, Mark Kassen, Juston Street, Will Brittain, Natasha Bassett, James Russo, Bill Tangradi and Jonathan Rosenthal. The movie revolves around a family of farmers living in a dystopian future during a severe drought who are troubled by a menacing stranger. Cipoletti co-wrote the screenplay with Jonathan Rosenthal. They are also producing the project with Jordan Foley (The Open Road). Read the rest of this entry »

beauty-beastWalt Disney Records will release the official soundtrack album for the live action feature adaptation of Beauty and the Beast. The album features the songs from the film composed by Alan Menken (Aladdin, EnchantedTangled, The Little Mermaid) and featuring lyrics by Howard Ashman and Tim Rice. Also included on the release is Menken’s original score, which was arranged by Christopher Benstead. The soundtrack will be released in various versions and formats on March 17, 2017. Visit Amazon to pre-order the 2-disc deluxe edition soundtrack and check back on this page for the full album details. Beauty and the Beast is directed by Bill Condon and stars Emma Watson, Dan Stevens, Luke Evans, Kevin Kline, Josh Gad, Ewan McGregor, Stanley Tucci, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Audra McDonald, Ian McKellen and Emma Thompson. Read the rest of this entry »