2022 Emmy Awards Nominations Announced

Posted: July 12, 2022 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

emmysThe nominations for the 74th Emmy Awards were announced this morning. The awards will be given out at the 74th Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards on September 3 & 4 in Los Angeles and will be broadcast on September 10 on FXX. Here are the music-related categories:

Outstanding Music Composition for a Series (Original Dramatic Score):

Loki – “Glorious Purpose” – Natalie Holt
Only Murders in the Building – “The Boy From 6B” – Siddhartha Khosla
Schmigadoon! – “Schmigadoon!” – Christopher Willis
Severance – “The We We Are” – Theodore Shapiro
Succession – “Chiantishire” – Nicholas Britell
The Flight Attendant – “The Reykjavík Ice Sculpture Festival Is Lovely This Time Of Year” – Blake Neely

Outstanding Music Composition for a Limited Series, Movie or a Special (Original Dramatic Score):

1883 – “1883” – Brian Tyler & Breton Vivian
A Very British Scandal – “Episode 1” – Nathan Barr
Moon Knight – “Asylum” – Hesham Nazih
Station Eleven – “Unbroken Circle” – Dan Romer
The White Lotus – “Mysterious Monkeys” – Cristobal Tapia de Veer

Outstanding Main Title Theme Music:

Loki – Natalie Holt
Only Murders in the Building – Siddhartha Khosla
Severance – Theodore Shapiro
Squid Game – Jung Jae-il
The White Lotus – Cristobal Tapia de Veer

Outstanding Music Composition for a Documentary Series or Special (Original Dramatic Score):

14 Peaks: Nothing Is Impossible – Nainita Desai
Lucy and Desi – David Schwartz
Return to Space – Mychael Danna & Harry Gregson-Williams
The Tinder Swindler – Jessica Jones
They Call Me Magic – “Earvin” – Terence Blanchard

Outstanding Music and Lyrics:
Euphoria: “All My Life, My Heart Has Yearned For A Thing I Cannot Name / Song Title: Elliot’s Song” –
Labrinth (Music & Lyrics), Muzhda Zemar-McKenzie & Zendaya (Lyrics)
Euphoria: “You Who Cannot See, Think Of Those Who Can / Song Title: I’m Tired” – Labrinth (Music & Lyrics), Zendaya & Sam Levinson (Lyrics) – Euphoria
Schmigadoon!: “Schmigadoon! / Song Title: Corn Puddin'” – Cinco Paul (Music & Lyrics)
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel: “How To Chew Quietly And Influence People / Song Title: Maybe Monica” –
Thomas Mizer & Curtis Moore (Music & Lyrics)
This Is Us: “Day Of The Wedding / Song Title: The Forever Now” – Siddhartha Khosla (Music), Taylor Goldsmith (Lyrics)

Outstanding Music Direction:

43rd Annual Kennedy Center Honors – Rickey Minor
44th Annual Kennedy Center Honors – Rickey Minor
One Last Time: An Evening With Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga – Michael Bearden & Lee Musiker
Saturday Night Live: “Host: Jake Gyllenhaal” – Lenny Pickett, Leon Pendarvis & Eli Brueggemann
The Pepsi Super Bowl LVI Halftime Show Starring Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Mary J. Blige, Eminem, Kendrick Lamar And 50 Cent – Adam Blackstone

Outstanding Music Supervision:

Better Call Saul – “Black And Blue” – Thomas Golubić
Euphoria – “Trying To Get To Heaven Before They Close The Door” – Jen Malone & Adam Leber
Ozark – “The Cousin Of Death” – Gabe Hilfer
Stranger Things – “Chapter Four: Dear Billy” – Nora Felder
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – “How Do You Get To Carnegie Hall?” – Robin Urdang
The White Lotus – “Departures” – Janet Lopez

For the full list of nominations, visit Emmys.com.

  1. liamdude5 says:

    The winners should be:
    •The Flight Attendant
    •The White Lotus
    •Return to Space