‘The Sapphires’ Soundtrack Details

Posted: August 2, 2012 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: ,

The details of the soundtrack album for the Australian comedy The Sapphires have been revealed. The album features the songs featured in the film including such soul classics as Heard It Through The Grapevine, What A Man and Ill Take You There performed by one of the films stars, Jessica Mauboy. The soundtrack will be released in France and Australia next week by Sony Music and is available as an import on Amazon. No word yet on a domestic release date. Audio clips can be checked out here. The Sapphires is directed by Wayne Blair and stars Chris O’Dowd (Bridesmaids), Deborah Mailman, Jessica Mauboy, Shari Sebbens and Miranda Tapsell. The movie follows four talented Australian Aboriginal girls from a remote mission as they learn about love, friendship and war when their all girl group The Sapphires entertains the U.S. troops in Vietnam in 1968. The film premiered at this year’s Cannes Film Festival to rave reviews and has been picked up by the Weinstein Company for distribution in the US and most international territories. The movie is set to be released in France and Australia next week and no domestic release date has been announced yet.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Land Of A Thousand Dances – Jessica Mauboy
2. I Heard It Through The Grapevine – Jessica Mauboy
3. What A Man – Jessica Mauboy
4. I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch) – Jessica Mauboy
5. Who’s Loving You – Jessica Mauboy
6. I’ll Take You There – Jessica Mauboy
7. Gotcha – Jessica Mauboy
8. Soul Man – Sam & Dave
9. Hold On, I’m Coming – Sam & Dave
10. Run Through The Jungle – Creedence Clearwater Revival
11. Today I Started Loving You Again – Jessica Mauboy, Juanita Tippens & Jade McRae
12. People Make The World A Better Place – Juanita Tippens
13. Yellow Bird – Jessica Mauboy & Lou Bennett
14. Ngarra Burra Ferra Jessica Mauboy, Lou Bennett, Juanita Tippens & Jade McRae
15. Shouting Out Love – The Emotions
16. In The Sweet Bye And Bye – Darren Percival

  1. Beautiful songs from their family, good music, and sad history for those early Australians.

  2. fredrick tribel says:

    the lust song goodbye honey I cant find it