Varese Sarabande Records has announced the latest batch of titles in the Varese CD Club series. Most notably, the label will be relasing a remastered soundtrack edition for Roman Polanski’s classic 1974 thriller Chinatown starring Jack Nicholson and Faye Dunaway. The album features the Academy Award-nominated score composed by Jerry Goldsmith. The release is limited to 3000 copies and is available for pre-order on Varese’s website, where you can also check out a number of audio clips. The previous soundtrack CD has been out-of-print for more than a decade. The release coincides with the Blu-Ray debut of the film. Apart from the score nomination, Chinatown has also received 10 other Oscar nods, including in the Best Picture, Best Director and Best Actor/Actress categories. The film received one Academy Award for Robert Towne’s original screenplay.

The new CD Club titles also include a 2-disc set featuring a DVD of the concert ALIEN: A Biomechanical Symphony featuring music from all four original Alien films (by composers Jerry Goldsmith, James Horner, Elliot Goldenthal and John Frizzell) and a CD of just the music. Also included is one track from Brian Tyler’s score for Aliens Vs. Predator: Requiem. The music performed by the Tenerife Film Orchestra and Choir and conducted by Diego Navarro was recorded at the closing night gala of Fimucité 3 in Tenerife in 2009. To pre-order the release, which is limited to 3000 copies, visit Varese’s online store.

The other two club releases include the third volume in the soundtrack series for the TV show The Alfred Hitchcock Hour featuring over two hours of music composed and conducted by Lyn Murray, Leonard Rosenman, Lalo Schifrin and Benny Carter, as well as the stand-alone release of Bill Conti’s soundtrack for The Karate Kid: Part III, which was previously released as part of the label’s Karate Kid box set, which includes all four scores of the series.

The label has also announced the first three titles of the new Varese Encore series of long out-of-print titles, newly re-mastered and with updated packaging. The titles include the 1986 drama The Clan of the Cave Bear featuring music by Alan Silvestri, Amazing Grace and Chuck composed by Elmer Bernstein and Miklos Rosza’s score for the 1981 thriller Eye of the Needle. All three albums are limited to only 1000 copies.