Alexandre Desplat (The Grand Budapest HotelThe King’s Speech, The Shape of Water, Harry Potter and the Deathly HallowsGodzilla) & Alex Heffes (The Last King of Scotland, Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, Touching the Void, Queen of Katwe, State of Play) have composed the original music for the new HBO limited series The Regime. The show is created by Will Tracy (Succession, The Menu) and stars Kate Winslet, Matthias Schoenaerts, Andrea Riseborough, Guillaume Gallienne, Martha Plimpton and Hugh Grant. The 6-part political satire directed by Stephen Frears (Dangerous Liaisons, High Fidelity) & Jessica Hobbs (The Split) follows an authoritarian  chancellor who has grown increasingly paranoid and unstable when she turns to a volatile soldier  as an unlikely confidant. Tracy serves as the project’s showrunner and is also executive producing with Winslet, Frears, Hobbs, Frank Rich (Veep, White House Plumbers) and Tracey Seaward (Dirty Pretty Things, The Two Popes). Desplat has scored the Frears-directed first two episodes and Episode 3 and also contributed the main title theme. He has previously collaborated with Frears on numerous feature projects, including The Queen, Philomena, Florence Foster Jenkins, Tamara Drewe, Cheri and The Lost King. Heffes composed the score for the final three episodes. The Regime will premiere this coming Sunday, March 3 on HBO and will also be available to stream on Max and will make its UK debut in April on Sky Atlantic and NOW.

Desplat’s other recent projects include Ellen Kuras’ Lee, which premiered at last year’s Toronto International Film Festival and has been picked up by Roadside Attractions and Vertical Entertainment for a release in U.S. theaters on September 20, 2024. Heffes has recently scored Michael Keaton’s Knox Goes Away, which also premiered at last year’s TIFF and is set to be released in theaters on March 15 by Saban Films.