2023 Emmy Awards Nominations Announced

Posted: July 12, 2023 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

emmysThe nominations for the 75th Emmy Awards were announced this morning. The awards will be given out at the 75th Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards, which is currently scheduled to take place on September 9 & 10 in Los Angeles, but is expected to be delayed. Here are the music-related categories:

Outstanding Music Composition for a Series (Original Dramatic Score):

Andor – “Rix Road” – Nicholas Britell
Succession – “Connor’s Wedding” – Nicholas Britell
The Last of Us – “Long, Long Time” – Gustavo Santaolalla
The White Lotus – “In the Sandbox” – Cristobal Tapia de Veer
Wednesday – “Woe Is the Loneliest Number” – Danny Elfman & Chris Bacon

Outstanding Music Composition for a Limited or Anthology Series, Movie or a Special (Original Dramatic Score):

A Small Light – “What Can Be Saved” – Ariel Marx
Hocus Pocus 2 – John Debney
Ms. Marvel – “Time and Again”- Laura Karpman
Prey  – Sarah Schachner
Weird: The Al Yankovic Story – Leo Birenberg & Zach Robinson

Outstanding Main Title Theme Music:

Andor – Nicholas Britell
Guillermo Del Toro’s Cabinet of Curiosities – Holly Amber Church
Ms. Marvel – Laura Karpman
The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power – Howard Shore
Wednesday – Danny Elfman

Outstanding Music Composition for a Documentary Series or Special (Original Dramatic Score):

Eva Longoria: Searching For Mexico – Tony Morales
Light & Magic – “Gang of Outsiders” – James Newton Howard
Pamela, A Love Story – Blake Neely
Prehistoric Planet – “Badlands” – Hans Zimmer, Anže Rozman & Kara Talve
Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie – John Powell

Outstanding Music and Lyrics:

Ginny & Georgia – “Hark! Darkness Descends!” / Song Title: Marriage Is A Dungeon – Lili Haydn & Ben Bromfield (Music & Lyrics)
The L Word: Generation Q – “Questions For The Universe” / Song Title: All About Me – Heather McIntosh, Taura Stinson & Allyson Newman (Music & Lyrics)
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – “Susan” / Song Title: Your Personal Trash Man Can – Curtis Moore & Thomas Mizer (Music & Lyrics)
Ted Lasso – “Mom City / Song Title: Fought & Lost” – Tom Howe, Jamie Hartman & Sam Ryder (Music & Lyrics)
Ted Lasso – “So Long, Farewell” / Song Title: A Beautiful Game – Ed Sheeran, Foy Vance & Max Martin (Music & Lyrics)
Weird: The Al Yankovic Story – Song Title: Now You Know – Al Yankovic (Music & Lyrics)

Outstanding Music Direction:

The Apple Music Super Bowl LVII Halftime Show Starring Rihanna – Adam Blackstone & Omar Edwards
Library Of Congress Gershwin Prize For Popular Song: Joni Mitchell- Greg Phillinganes
The Oscars – Rickey Minor
2022 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony – Adam Blackstone
Saturday Night Live – Host: Austin Butler – Lenny Pickett, Leon Pendarvis & Eli Brueggemann

Outstanding Music Supervision:

Daisy Jones & The Six – “Track 8: Looks Like We Made It” – Frankie Pine
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel – “Four Minutes” – Robin Urdang
Stranger Things – “Chapter Nine: The Piggyback” – Nora Felder
Ted Lasso – “So Long, Farewell” – Tony Von Pervieux & Christa Miller
The White Lotus – “Bull Elephants” – Gabe Hilfer

For the full list of nominations, visit Emmys.com.