oscarsThe Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited 322 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures to join the organization. Among the invited artists this year a number of film composers, including Johann Johannsson (Prisoners, Sicario) who received his first Academy Award nomination earlier this year for his music for The Theory of EverythingTrent Reznor & Atticus Ross who received the Oscar in 2011 for their work on David Fincher’s The Social Network and recently reunited with the director on Gone GirlTyler Bates whose film scoring credits include last year’s hit film Guardians of the GalaxyJonny Greenwood whose film music work include Paul Thomas Anderson’s There Will Be BloodThe Master and Inherent Vice and Christopher Lennertz whose recent feature credits include Ride AlongHorrible Bosses 2 and The Wedding Ringer. Other composers invited to join the music branch are Alex Heffes (The Last King of ScotlandMandela: Long Walk to Freedom), Dave Grusin (The FirmTootsie), Marc Streitenfeld (Robin HoodPrometheusPoltergeist), Laura Karpman (Black NativityStates of Grace) and Gary Yershon who received his first Oscar nomination this year for Mike Leigh’s Mr. TurnerAmong the songwriters invited to join the organization this year are Lonnie Lynn (aka Common) and John Stephens (aka John Legend) who won their first Oscars this year for the song Glory from SelmaSergio Mendes who is known in the film world for his work on the Rio movies. Also invited were music editors Alex Gibson (InterstellarThe Dark Knight), Lisa Jaime (HairsprayAnnie), Chris McGeary (Jersey BoysRoboCop), Daniel Pinder (Captain PhillipsBig Hero 6) and Erica Weis (SpyStranger Than FictionThe Other Guys).