academyawardsThe Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited 276 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures to join the organization. Among the invited artists this year are a number of film composers including Ramin Djawadi whose credits include Iron Man, Clash of the Titans, Safe House and the upcoming Pacific Rim, Cliff Martinez whose film projects include Contagion, Drive and Best Picture nominee Traffic, Joe Hisaishi who scored the Academy Award-winning animated film Spirited Away, Aaron Zigman who is best known for his work on such films as The Notebook, Sex and the City and Bridge to Terabithia, Henry Jackman who scored this year’s Best Animated Film nominee Wreck-It-Ralph and J. Ralph who was nominated for Best Original Song this year for his work on Chasing Ice. In addition, Prince whose work for film includes Purple Rain and Happy Feet was also invited, as well as Siedah Garrett who performed last year’s Oscar nominated song Real in Rio from Rio. Also invited were music editors Ramiro Belgardt who worked on such films as Best Picture nominees Lincoln and Munich and Jennifer Dunnington who served as music editor on the Oscar-winning The Departed and Best Picture nominees The Aviator and Hugo. Finally, composer Miriam Cutler was also invited through the Academy’s Documentary Branch. For the full list of the invited artists, click here.

  1. artkid08 says:

    Wreck it ralph a winner of what, he got beat out twice by brave???