Alberto Iglesias was chosen as Film Composer of the Year 2012 at the World Soundtrack Awards 2012, tonight’s closing event of the 39th Ghent Film Festival. Iglesias also received an award for his score for Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy in the Best Original Film Score of the Year 2012 category. The composer’s other scores of the past year include The Monk (Le Moine) and Pedro Almadovar’s The Skin I Live In (La Piel Que Habito). In the Discovery of the Year category, Brian Byrne was awarded for his score for Rodrigo Garcia’s Albert Nobbs starring Glenn Close. The composer also received an award for the original song Lay Your Head Down from Albert Nobbs, which features lyrics by Glenn Close and is performed by Sinead O’Connor. The Public Choice Award went to Abel Korzeniowski for his music for Madonna’s W.E.. As previously announced, Pino Donaggio received received a World Soundtrack Lifetime Achievement Award, which was presented to him by Mike Stoller. Both the ceremony and the concert were attended by composers including James Newton Howard (The Hunger Games, The Sixth Sense), Pino Donaggio (Carrie, Dressed To Kill), and Discovery of the Year 2011 Alex Heffes (The First Grader, The Rite). Check out our previous article for the nominations.