Posts Tagged ‘Academy Awards’

Academy Announces 91 Original Songs in Oscar Race

Posted: December 13, 2016 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences has announced the short list of 91 songs that are in contention for nominations in the Original Song category for the 89th Academy Awards.During the nominations process, all voting members of the Music Branch will receive a Reminder List of works submitted in the category and a compilation of […]

The Academy Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences has announced three programs to take place in August that will highlight the art of film music. On Wednesday, August 17, Academy governor Michael Giacchino (Up, Star Trek, Inside Out) and animation director David Silverman will host the West Coast restoration premiere of the 1930 classic King of Jazz at the Samuel Goldwyn Theater in […]

Composer Laura Karpman has been elected to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 2016–17 Board of Governors. She joins Charles Bernstein and Michael Giacchino who are the other two governors of the branch. It will mark her first term serving on the music branch board. Karpman’s scoring credits include the 2009 feature The […]

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has invited 683 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures to join the organization. Among the invited artists this year a number of film composers, including Fernando Velazquez (Crimson Peak, The Impossible, The Orphanage), Marcelo Zarvos (The Good Shepherd, Enough Said, The Door in the Floor), Shigeru Umebayashi (House of […]

Video Highlights from the 88th Academy Awards

Posted: February 29, 2016 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Events

The 88th Academy Awards ceremony was held last night. Among the music-related highlights was Ennio Morricone receiving his first competitive Oscar for his music for The Hateful Eight and Sam Smith & Jimmy Napes who won the award for the song Writing’s on the Wall from Spectre. Check out the acceptance speeches by the winners, as well as a backstage press room interview with Smith & Napes after […]

Ennio Morricone Wins Oscar for ‘The Hateful Eight’

Posted: February 28, 2016 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

Ennio Morricone has received his second Academy Award for his music for Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight. He previously received an Academy Honorary Award in 2007 for his lifetime achievement and was nominated five times before. The other nominated composers in the Best Original Score category were John Williams (Star Wars: The Force Awakens), Thomas […]

Yesterday afternoon, the Society of Composers & Lyricists (SCL) hosted its annual reception honoring the Oscar-nominated composers and songwriters in the Best Original Score and Best Original Song category, which was held for the second time in a row at Cafe La Boheme in West Hollywood. SCL president Ashley Irwin introduced the nominees who briefly […]

Harold Wheeler Named Oscar Music Director

Posted: February 19, 2016 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News
Tags: ,

Academy Awards producers David Hill and Reginald Hudlin today announced that Harold Wheeler was selected as music director for this year’s 88th Oscars. He returns for the third Oscar telecast, his first as music director. Wheeler is best known as an orchestrator, composer, conductor, record producer and arranger and has received numerous Emmy and Tony Award nominations. His television credits […]

Academy Awards producers David Hill and Reginald Hudlin announced today the first slate of presenters and performers for the 88th Oscars telecast. The list includes Lady Gaga, Sam Smith and The Weeknd who are expected to perform their Oscar-nominated songs at the ceremony. Lady Gaga is nominated alongside Diane Warren for the song Til it Happens to You from the documentary […]

88th Academy Awards Nominations Announced

Posted: January 14, 2016 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

This morning, the nominations for the 88th Academy Awards were announced. Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2015 will be presented on Oscar Sunday, February 28, 2016, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center® and televised live on the ABC Television Network. Here are the music-related nominations: Best Original Score: Bridge of […]