Sony Music is set to re-release the best-selling soundtrack for James Cameron’s Titanic to coincide with the 3D release of the film. The album includes the original music by James Horner who received his first two Academy Awards for his work on the film, including both the score and the Celine Dion-performed song My Heart Will Go On. The reissue will be released on March 27, 2012 and can be pre-ordered on Amazon. In addition, the label is also releasing a 4-disc collector’s edition, which includes the newly-remastered version of the original soundtrack, the album Back to Titanic, as well as a previously unreleased disc of period music recorded for the movie by I Salonisti – the five-piece quintet that appears in the film and a new compilation of songs from the early 1900s entitled Popular Music From The Titanic Era. The set is also available for pre-order on Amazon. Titanic starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet has won 11 Academy Awards was the highest-grossing movie worldwide for 12 years.  Coinciding with the 100th anniversary of the Titanic setting sail (April 10th, 1912), the 3D version will be released on April 4, 2012. For updates on the film, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the track list of the 4-disc collector’s set:

Disc One: Titanic – Music from the Motion Picture
1. Never an Absolution
2. Distant Memories
3. Southampton
4. Rose
5. Leaving Port
6. “Take Her to Sea, Mr. Murdoch”
7. “Hard to Starboard”
8. Unable to Stay, Unwilling to Leave
9. The Sinking
10. Death of Titanic
11. A Promise Kept
12. A Life So Changed
13. An Ocean of Memories
14. My Heart Will Go On (performed by Celine Dion)
15. Hymn to the Sea

Disc Two: I Salonisti: Gentlemen, It Has Been a Privilege Playing with You Tonight
1. Valse Septembre
2. Marguerite Waltz
3. Wedding Dance
4. Poet and Peasant
5. Blue Danube
6. Song Without Words
7. Estudiantina
8. Vision of Salome
9. Titsy Bitsy Girl
10. Alexander’s Ragtime Band
11. Sphinx
12. Barcarole
13. Orpheus
14. Song of Autumn
15. Nearer My God to Thee

Disc Three: Back To Titanic
1. Titanic Suite
2. An Irish Party In Third Class (performed by Gaelic Storm)
3. Alexander’s Ragtime Band (performed by I Salonisti)
4. The Portrait
5. Jack Dawson’s Luck
6. A Building Panic
7. Nearer My God to Thee (performed by I Salonisti)
8. Come Josephine, In My Flying Machine (performed by Máire Brennan)
9. Lament
10. A Shore Never Reached
11. My Heart Will Go On – with dialogue from the film (performed by Celine Dion)
12. Epilogue: The Deep And Timeless Sea

Disc Four: Popular Music from the Titanic Era
1. It’s a Long Way to Tipperary (John McCormack)
2. Let Me Call You Sweetheart (Halfway House Dance Orchestra)
3. Vilia (Guy Lombardo & His Orchestra)
4. My Gal Sal (Chick Bullock & His Levee Loungers)
5. Oh! You Beautiful Doll (Chuck Foster & His Orchestra)
6. Martha (Adrian Rollinoi Trio)
7. In the Shade of the Old Apple Tree (Duke Ellington & His Orchestra)
8. Waiting at the Church (Beatrice Kay)
9. Frasquita Serenade (John Kirby & His Orchestra)
10. Shine On, Harvest Moon (Hal Kemp)
11. From the Land of the Sky Blue Water (Mildred Bailey & Her Orchestra)
12. Loch Lomond (Maxine Sullivan & Her Orchestra)
13. A Hot Time in the Old Town Tonight (Miff Mole’s Molers)

  1. Daniel says:

    This looks like a clear grab for more money by Sony Classical – While this may appeal to collectors, there is really nothing “new” per se in this re release. Disc One and Disc three are clearly obvious. Disc 2 and 4 are only “inspired by” pieces.
    They should have included material such as alternate cues, recording sessions and perhaps new themes composed by James Cameron himself.
    I’ll stick with my ’97 edition.

  2. Yahzee says:

    James Cameron can write music themes? Didn’t knew that. But yeah, this release is crap. It shows that only specialized labels like La-la Land and Intrada know how to properly release a soundtrack.

  3. the marconi radio boys says:

    is an irish party in third class the same from the movie with the freaking dialog or is it

    cause I love this awesome tune and hate that they have to put those damn voices in-it
    ruins it!