Decca Classics has released a soundtrack album for the animated TV special Mimi and the Mountain Dragon. The album features the film’s original music composed by Academy Award winner Rachel Portman (Emma, The Cider House Rules, Chocolat, The Manchurian Candidate, Never Let Me Go) and performed by the BBC Philharmonic featuring singers from the Hallé’s family of choirs. The soundtrack is now available to stream/download on Amazon, where you can also listen to audio samples. A different version with narration by Sir Michael Morpurgo is available to purchase here. Mimi and the Mountain Dragon is written by Owen Sheers based on Morpurgo’s children’s book of the same title and follows a shy little girl named Mimi who finds a baby dragon and undertakes a perilous journey to return it to its mother. The animated short is premiering in the UK today on BBC One.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. Opening and a Little Girl Called Mimi (3:49)
2. Mimi Meets Baby Dragon (2:32)
3. Lullaby (feat. Claire Martin) (3:00)
4. Baby Dragon Is Gone (2:38)
5. Climbing the Mountain (3:07)
6. The Mountain Dragon (3:13)
7. Flying (2:39)
8. Mimi’s Song and Ending (feat. Esther Greaves) (3:32)