Johann Johannsson has been named Film Composer of the Year at the 17th World Soundtrack Awards, tonight’s closing event of the 44th Ghent Film Festival for his score for Denis Villeneuve’s Arrival. He was previously nominated in the category in 2015. Nicholas Britell received his first World Soundtrack Award in the Discovery of the Year category for his Academy Award-nominated score from MoonlightRupert Gregson-Williams was honored as TV Composer of the year for his work on the Netflix original series The CrownThe Public Choice Award went to composer A.R. Rahman for his score for Viceroy’s House. In addition, City of Stars from Damien Chazelle’s La La Land was named Best Original Song. The track was written by Justin Hurwitz, with lyrics by Justin Paul Benj Pasek. The Sabam Award for Best Young Composer went to Gavin Brivik and Belgian jazz pianist Jef Neve won the award for Best Original Score for a Belgian Production. As previously announced, David Shire received the lifetime achievement award.

  1. Thiv says:

    Congrats JJ ❤ Hope he release his score for Mother and Blade Runner 2049 ?