the-spoils-before-dyingPremiering on Wednesday, July 8, is the mini-series The Spoils Before Dying created by Matt Piedmont & Andrew Steele and starring Will Ferrell. Michael Kenneth Williams, Kristen Wiig, Haley Joel Osment, Maya Rudolph, Michael Sheen, Val Kilmer, Andy Daly, Tim Meadows, Chris Parnell and Marc Evan Jackson. Andrew Feltenstein & John Nau (Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues, Casa de mi Padre) who previously scored last year’s original The Spoils of Babylon have composed the 6-parter’s original music. The Spoils Before Dying follows a 1950s jazz pianist-turned-private eye who becomes embroiled in a murder investigation and will air Thursday nights on IFC. Visit the official show website for more information.

dominionPremiering on Thursday, July 9 is the second season of the Syfy original series Dominion created by Vaun Vilmott and starring Christopher Egan, Tom Wisdom, Roxanne McKee, Alan Dale, Anthony Stewart Head and Luke Allen-Gale. The show’s original music is composed by Bill Brown (CSI: NYThe Devil’s Tomb). Jeff Rona previously scored the supernatural drama’s first season. To learn more about the new season, check out our scoring assignment articleDominion will air every Thursday night on Syfy.

zooMissing from last week’s TV music roundup was the new CBS drama Zoo based on the novel by James Patterson and starring James Wolk, Kristen Connolly, Billy Burke, Nonso Anozie and Nora Arnezeder. Chris Tilton (FringeAlcatraz) is composing the show’s original music. Zoo centers around the fallout from a wave of violent animal attacks against humans across the planet and follows a young renegade biologist tries to unlock the pandemic’s mystery.. The sci-fi drama premiered on June 30 and will air every Tuesday night on CBS. For updates on the series, visit the official show website.