Chris Bacon has been chosen by Smash executive producer and composer Marc Shaiman to write the underscore for this season’s remaining episodes of the musical show. Shaiman has written the series’ underscore himself for the first six episodes and Bacon has taken over scoring duties with episode 7 (The Workshop), which premiered last night. Shaiman and Scott Wittman continue to write the show’s original songs. Since our last update, several new songs have been released digitally, including the Shaiman- & Wittman-penned original songs The 20th Century Fox Mambo (performed by Katherine McPhee), I Never Met a Wolf Who Didn’t Love to Howl (performed by Megan Hilty), Mr. & Mrs. Smith (performed by Hilty and Will Chase), Let’s Be Bad (performed by Hilty) and History Is Made at Night (performed by Hilty and Chase), as well cover versions of It’s a Man’s Man’s Man’s World (performed by McPhee), A Song for You (performed by Chase), Crazy Dreams (performed by Hilty), Call Me (performed by McPhee), Grenade (performed by Chase) and I Haven’t Met You Yet (performed by Nick Jones). Smash starring Debra Messing, Jack Davenport, Katherine McPhee, Christian Borle, Megan Hilty,Brian d’Arcy and Anjelica Huston currenly airs every Monday night on NBC. For updates on the series, visit the official show website.

Bacon whose best known solo credit is last year’s sci-fi thriller Source Code also has the documentary High Ground coming up. Visit our previous article for more information.