Milan Records has announced a first soundtrack album for the Prime Video original series The Wheel of Time. The Volume 1 album is the first of an eventual two volumes of original music composed by Lorne Balfe (Mission: Impossible – Fallout & Dead Reckoning, His Dark Materials, Black Widow, Black Adam, Top Gun: Maverick, Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves). The conceptual album features 11 key theme tracks, each tailored to a different character in the new season. The soundtrack will be released digitally next Friday, September 8 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. A first track (Egwene al’Vere) is already available to stream/download now and can also be checked out after the jump. The label has previously released multiple albums featuring Balfe’s music from Season 1 back in 2021. The Wheel of Time is developed by Rafe Judkins based on Robert Jordan’s fantasy epic and stars Rosamund Pike, Daniel Henney, Zoë Robins, Josha Stradowski, Madeleine Madden, Hammed Animashaun, Barney Harris, Marcus Rutherford, Priyanka Bose, Kae Alexander, Sophie Okonedo and Fares Fares. Season 2 of the fantasy series will premiere this Friday, September 1 on Prime Video.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. The Desert Warriors (3:23)
2. The Hailene (3:09)
3. Darkness and Shadows (3:59)
4. Liandrin Guirale (2:23)
5. Aviendha (2:15)
6. Mat Cauthon (3:15)
7. The Dragon’s Heart (2:41)
8. Egwene al’Vere (3:02)
9. Nynaeve al’Meara (3:10)
10. Last Light (3:19)
11. Coming Home (4:24)

The recordings of both albums were a global effort with recording sessions taking place at Abbey Road in London, Abriguerio Recording Studios in Spain, as well as various project studios in London, Los Angeles, Nashville and Chicago.

“This season, we really tried from the beginning to accentuate the high stakes, action and dark threats in each episode, expanding upon the themes from season one while introducing new ones as the world continues to expand,“ Balfe said. “Like in season one, vocalists recorded singing in “Old Tongue”, which follows the narrative as it develops throughout season two. We kept the same musical palette, but moved away from the traditional fantasy tropes and incorporated more elements of electronic, dreampop, folk, classical and even dark wave into each track. This was a great way to show the musical evolution of the characters and how they have come into their own.“