guild-of-music-supervisorsThe 8th Guild of Music Supervisors Awards were handed out on Thursday night at Ace Hotel in Downtown Los Angeles. Julianne Jordan and Julia Michels received the top honor in the Best Music Supervision in Motion Picture – Motion Picture Over 25M for their work on Universal Pictures’ Pitch Perfect 3. Brian Ross and Michael Hill received the award in the Motion Picture Under 25M category for their music supervision on Greta Gerwig’s Lady Bird. Howard Paar was honored in the Motion Picture Under 10M category for his music supervision on Ry Russo-Young’s Before I Fall and Robin Urdang took home the prize in the Motion Picture Under 5M category for her work on Call Me By Your NameUrdang also accepted a second award for the Academy Award-nominated song Mystery of Love written and performed by Sufjan Stevens from Luca Guadagnino’s drama in the Best Song/Recording Created for a Film category. Joel C. High was the winner in the Best Music Supervision – Documentary category for his music supervision on G-Funk.

Season Kent won the award for the first season of Netflix’s 13 Reasons Why in the TV Drama category, while Kier Lehman took home the prize in the TV Comedy or Musical category for his music supervision on the second season of HBO’s Insecure. Lehman also accepted the award for the winner in the Best Song/Recording Created for Television category, Quicksand from Insecure performed by SZA and written by Solána Rowe, Dacoury Natche & Mickey De Grand IV. Susan Jacobs was honored with the Guild of Music Supervisors Award for HBO’s Big Little Lies in the Television Limited Series or Movie category, for which she previously won the Emmy Award last year and Deborah Mannis-Gardner received the award in the Docuseries or Reality Television category for HBO’s docu-series The Defiant Ones. Other winners include Steve Schnur, Cybele Pettus, and Raphaella Lima for the video game FIFA 18, Bobby Gumm (Trailer Park) for the trailer for Baby Driver, as well as the trailer for the second season of Stranger Things (with Michael Paquette) and Apple for best use of music for a brand.

For the third time, the organization gave out the Guild of Music Supervisors Legacy Award, which went to Becky Mancuso-Winding, who is best known for her pioneering work as one of the industry’s first credited feature film music supervisors, having crafted soundtracks for over 40 music oriented films, including Urban Cowboy and Footloose. For the first time, the Guild of Music Supervisors Icon Award was given out. Kenny Loggins who contributed numerous songs to hit films, including Caddyshack’s I’m Alright, Top Gun’s Danger Zone, and Footloose’s self-titled theme Footloose received the Icon Award and also performed a medley of his songs. The awards show also featured an appearance by Siddhartha Khosla, Chris Pierce & Hannah Miller who performed the nominated original song We Can Always Come Back To This from This Is Us. Among the presenters throughout the evening were composer Hans Zimmer, actors Issa Rae (Insecure), Chrissy Metz (This Is Us), Darren Criss (The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story), David Hasselhoff, Bryan Greenberg and singer/songwriter Aloe Blacc.