taboo(Premiering on Tuesday, January 10, is the FX mini-series Taboo created by Steven Knight and starring Tom Hardy, Oona Chaplin, David Hayman, Michael Kelly, Franka Potente and Jonathan Pryce. Max Richter (The LeftoversWaltz with BashirMiss SloaneDisconnectTestament of Youth) has composed the original music for the 8-parter. Check out our previous news article and the official show website to learn more about the series, which  follows an adventurer who returns to Britain from Africa along with 14 stolen diamonds to seek vengeance after the death of his father and will air Tuesday nights on FX.

mad-familiesPremiering on Thursday, January 12, is the Crackle original movie Mad Families directed by Fred Wolf and starring Charlie Sheen, Leah Remini, Finesse Mitchell, Juan Gabriel Pareja, Charlotte McKinney, Naya Rivera, Chris Mulkey, Lil Rel Howery, Tiffany Haddish, Clint Howard, Chanel Iman, Barry Shabaka Henley, Efren Ramirez and Danny Mora. The film’s original music is composed by J. Peter Robinson (CocktailWayne’s WorldThe World’s Fastest IndianThe Bank Job). Check out our scoring assignment announcement to learn more about the comedy.

sneaky-petePremiering on Friday is the Amazon original series Sneaky Pete created by David Shore & Bryan Cranston and starring Giovanni Ribisi, Marin Ireland, Margo Martindale, Shane McRae, Libe Barer and Peter Gerety. Nathan Barr (True BloodHostelThe Americans) has composed the show’s original music. The drama follows an ex-convict conman who takes cover from his past by assuming the identity of his former cellmate, and gets roped into the family’s bail bond business. The show’s full first season will be available to stream on Amazon.

clinicalAlso premiering on Friday is the Netflix original movie Clinical co-written and directed by Alistair Legrand and starring Vinessa Shaw, Kevin Rahm and William Atherton. The film’s original music is composed by Ian Hultquist (AnimalsThe First Monday in MayMy Blind Brother) who previously scored Legrand’s last feature The Diabolical. Little Twig Records will release a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s score on January 13. Check out our soundtrack announcement for the full album details and to learn more about the project.

one-day-at-a-timeMissing from last week’s weekly roundup was the new Netflix original series One Day at a Time based on the classic 70s sitcom and starring Justina Machado, Todd Grinnell, Isabella Gomez, Marcel Ruiz, Stephen Tobolowsky and Rita Moreno. Gloria Estefan has recorded a new version of the theme song, which will be released as a digital single on January 13 by Madison Gate Records. Check out our previous article to listen to the track and for more information about the comedy.