carter-burwellCarter Burwell has been named Film Composer of the Year 2016 at the 16th World Soundtrack Awards, tonight’s closing event of the 43rd Ghent Film Festival. The composer’s output over the last year includes such titles as Anomalisa, Hail Caesar!Legend, The Family Fang and The Finest Hours. Burwell also received the Public Choice Award for his Academy Award-nominated score for Todd Haynes’ Carol and also won an award in the Best Original Song category for the Tom Noonan-performed track None of Them Are You from the animated feature Anomalisa, which he co-wrote with Charlie Kaufman. Jeff Beal was honored as the TV composer of the year for his work on the Netflix original series House of Cards. In the Discovery of the Year category, Joe Kraemer received the award for his music for Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation. In addition, Sánder Török won the SABAM Award for Best Young Composer. As previously announced, Ryuichi Sakamoto (The Last EmperorThe RevenantLittle Buddha, Merry Christmas, Mrs. Lawrence) won the Lifetime Achievement Award at the event.