wish-i-was-hereColumbia Records has announced a soundtrack album for Zach Braff’s indie comedy drama Wish I Was Here. The album features exclusive new songs from The Shins, Bon Iver and Cat Power + Coldplay. Also featured are tracks by Baldy Drawn Boy, Paul Simon, Gary Jules, Allie Moss & more. The soundtrack will be released digitally and physically on July 15, 2014. A special 12″ double gatefold, 180 gram vinyl version will be released on August 5. Click here to pre-order the vinyl version. Wish I Was Here is written and directed by Braff who also stars in the film alongside Kate Hudson, Joey King, Jim Parsons, Ashley Green, Mandy Patinkin and Josh Gad. The Kickstarter-funded movie scored by Rob Simonsen tells the story of a thirtysomething man who finds himself at major crossroads, which forces him to examine his life, his career, and his family. The dramedy premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and will be released in theaters on July 18 by Focus Features. To learn more about the film, visit the official movie website.

Here are the songs featured on the soundtrack:

  • So Now What – The Shins
  • Broke Window – Gary Jules
  • The Mute – Radical Face
  • Cherry Wine (Live) – Hozier
  • Holocene – Bon Iver
  • The Shining – Baldy Drawn Boy
  • Mexico – Jump Little Children
  • Wish I Was Here – Cat Power & Coldplay
  • Wait It Out – Allie Moss
  • The Obvious Child – Paul Simon
  • Breathe In (feat. Wafia)- Japanese Wallpaper
  • Heavenly Father – Bon Iver
  • Raven’s Song – Aaron Embry
  • Mend – The Weepies
  • The Head & The Heart – No One to Let You Down