A soundtrack album for the indie drama Beasts of the Southern Wild has been released. The album features the film’s original score composed by Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin who also directed the film. The soundtrack is now available digitally on iTunes. Beasts of the Southern Wild starring Quvenzhané Wallis and Dwight Henry revolves around an intrepid six-year-old girl who lives with her father in “the Bathtub,” a southern Delta community at the edge of the world and goes in search of her lost mother. The film premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival where it has been picked up by Fox Searchlighy for US distribution. The drama opens today in select cities. To learn more about the project, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Particles of the Universe (Heartbeats)
2. The Bathtub (feat. The Lost Bayou Ramblers)
3. Momma’s Song
4. I Think I Broke Something
5. The Smallest Piece
6. Les Veuves de la Coulee – Leroy “Happy Fats” LeBlanc 2:38
7. End of the World
8. Until the Water Goes Down
9. Mother Nature
10. The Survivors
11. Particles of the Universe (Elysian Fields)
12. Strong Animals
13. La Danse de Mardi Gras – The Balfa Brothers
14. The Thing That Made You
15. The Confrontation
16. Death Bed
17. Once There Was a Hushpuppy

  1. Sooooo glad they’re releasing the soundtrack. So far, the music on the website and in preview clips is so beautiful. Have you heard if it will also be released on Amazon.com?

  2. Pat says:

    I only found the mp3 album. Did anyone find the actual CD somewhere?