UPDATE (June 11, 2011): Check out our new article for the album track list.

Sony Masterworks will release a soundtrack album for the upcoming drama Snow Flower and the Secret Fan. The album includes the original score from the film by Academy Award-winning composer Rachel Portman. The music was recorded at Angel Studios in London. Details on the album’s contents will be published in the next couple of weeks. The soundtrack will be released on July 12, 2011. Visit Amazon to pre-order the album. Snow Flower and the Secret Fan directed by Wayne Wang is set in 19th century China and centers on the lifelong friendship between two girls who develop their own secret code as a way to contend with the rigid cultural norms imposed on women. The cast includes Hugh Jackman and a number of Chinese actors. Fox Searchlight will be releasing the film on July 15. For updates on the movie and to listen to a very short audio clip from Portman’s score, visit the official film website.