‘Origin’ Soundtrack Album Details

Posted: January 18, 2024 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: , , , ,

Lakeshore Records will release a soundtrack album for Ava DuVernay’s drama Origin. The album features the film’s original score composed by Kris Bowers (Bridgerton, King Richard, Green Book, Secret Invasion, Haunted Mansion, The Color Purple, When They See Us, Dear White People). The soundtrack will be released digitally tomorrow, January 19 and will be available to stream/download on Amazon or any other major digital music services. Listen to the composer’s final track below. Available separately as a digital single is Stan Walker’s original song I Am, which was released as a digital single in November. Origin is written and directed by DuVernay and stars Aunjanue Ellis-Taylor, Jon Bernthal, Vera Farmiga, Niecy Nash-Betts, Audra McDonald, Blair Underwood and Nick Offerman. The movie is inspired by Isabel Wilkerson’s bestselling nonfiction book Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents and examines an unspoken system of hierarchy that has shaped America. The drama, which premiered at last year’s Venice Film Festival and was picked up Neon for domestic distribution, received an awards-qualifying release in December and is opening in theaters this weekend.

Here’s the album track list:

1. August (2:10)
2. Followed (3:03)
3. Leaves (5:19)
4. I Don’t See It (2:02)
5. Burning Books (3:58)
6. I Think It’s Sweet (3:50)
7. Deep South (3:20)
8. Keys (4:44)
9. Arrival (2:10)
10. Cover Me (3:38)
11. Firewall (6:02)
12. Al Bright (4:02)
13. Set Us Free (6:02)