Jeff Russo (FargoStar Trek: Discovery/PicardLegion, Lucy in the Sky, The Night Of, For All Mankind, Love & Death) has composed the original music for the upcoming biographical drama Rob Peace. The film marks actor Chiwetel Ejiofor’s second feature directorial effort (following 2019’s The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind) and stars Jay Will, Mary J. Blige, Ejiofor himself, Camila Cabello, Mare Winningham and Michael Kelly. The movie is based on Jeff Hobbs’ bestselling biography and tells the story of a young man who grew up in an impoverished section of Newark, NJ and later graduated from Yale before leading a dual life in academia and research while also earning six figures selling marijuana. Ejiofor also wrote the screenplay. Antoine Fuqua (Training Day, The Equalizer) is producing the project with Alex Kurtzman (Star Trek, Transformers), Jenny Lumet (Star Trek: Strange New Worlds, The Man Who Fell to Earth), Rebecca Hobbs (Shining Girls, Coyote), Kat Samick (The Guilty, Legacy: The True Story of the LA Lakers), Jeffrey Soros (Juliet, Naked, Rules Don’t Apply) and Simon Horsman (Shirley, Magazine Dreams). Rob Peace will premiere next month at the 2024 Sundance Film Festival.

Russo’s other recent projects include the fifth season of FX’s Fargo. The composer also has the fifth and final season of Paramount+’s Star Trek: Discovery (to be released in April of 2024) and the fourth and final season of Netflix’s The Umbrella Academy coming up.