Joseph Trapanese (Oblivion, The Greatest ShowmanThe Raid 2, Straight Outta ComptonLady and the Tramp) has composed the original music for the upcoming Netflix original film Project Power. The movie is directed by Henry Joost & Ariel Schulman (Catfish, Nerve) and stars Jamie Foxx, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Dominique Fishback, Rodrigo Santoro, Amy Landecker, Allen Maldonado, Kyanna Simone Simpson, Andrene Ward-Hammond, Machine Gun Kelly, Casey Neistat, Jim Klock and Courtney B. Vance. The sci-fi thriller follows a local New Orleans cop who teams with a teenage dealer and a former soldier fueled by a secret vendetta to fight power with power and risk taking a mysterious new pill that unlocks superpowers in order to track down and stop the group responsible for creating it. Mattson Tomlin (Little Fish) wrote the screenplay. Eric Newman (Children of Men, Dawn of the Dead) and Bryan Unkeless (I, Tonya, Birds of Prey, Bright) are producing the project for Screen Arcade. Project Power will premiere on August 14, 2020 exclusively on Netflix.

Trapanese’s other upcoming feature projects include Brian Duffield’s Spontaneous and BenDavid Grabinski’s Happily. The composer also has the Netflix original series Shadow and Bone coming up. The show is developed by Eric Heisserer (Arrival, Bird Box) based on Leigh Bardugo’s Grishaverse novels and stars Jessie Mei Li, Ben Barnes, Freddy Carter, Archie Renaux, Amita Suman and Kit Young. The fantasy drama  is set in a world cleaved in two by a massive barrier of perpetual darkness, where unnatural creatures feast on human flesh and revolves around a young soldier uncovers a power that might finally unite her country. Heisserer & Leigh Bardugo are also executive producing the project with Pouya Shahbazian (Love, Simon, Divergent), as well as 21 Laps’ Shawn Levy, Dan Levine, Dan Cohen and Josh Barry. The series is expected to premiere later this year on Netflix.