Milan Records has released a soundtrack album for the comedy drama Green Book. The album features the film’s original music composed by Kris Bowers (Dear White People, For the People, Of Monsters and Men). Also included are the songs from the movie by The Blue Jays, Timmy Shaw, The Blackwells, Jack’s Four, Bob Kelly & others, as well as the performances of The Don Shirley Trio as featured in the film. The soundtrack is now available to download on Amazon, where you can also check out audio samples. A CD version is set to come out on December 7 and is available to order here and a vinyl version is also in the works. Green Book is co-written and directed by Peter Farrelly and stars Viggo Mortensen, Mahershala Ali, Linda Cardellini, Sebastian Maniscalco, Dimiter D. Marinov and P.J. Byrne. The movie tells the true story of the growing friendship between a nightclub bouncer who’s been hired to chauffeur a highly-educated African-American piano-playing prodigy through the Deep South on a concert tour. The dramedy premiered at this year’s Toronto Film Festival and is being released in select theaters this weekend by Universal Pictures before expanding nationwide on November 21. Visit the official movie website for more information.

Here’s the album track list:

1. That Old Black Magic – The Green Book Copacabana Orchestra (2:13)
2. 881 7th Ave (0:47)
3. So Long Lovers Island – The Blue Jays (2:21)
4. Dr. Shirley’s Luggage (0:33)
5. I Feel Fine (0:44)
6. A Letter From My Baby – Timmy Shaw (2:50)
7. You Took Advantage of Me – The Blackwells (2:03)
8. Blue Skies – The Don Shirley Trio (2:05)
9. Dear Dolores (1:04)
10. Vacation Without Aggravaton (2:35)
11. Cookin’ – Al Casey Combo (2:14)
12. What’cha Gonna Do – Bill Massey (2:17)
13. Water Boy – The Don Shirley Trio (4:53)
14. Dearest One – Jack’s Four (2:09)
15. Field Workers (0:50)
16. I Got a Call / The Exception (1:16)
17. Makeup For Wounds / It’s a Complicated World (1:22)
18. Happy Talk – The Don Shirley Trio (1:21)
19. I Love My Baby – Bobby Page & The Riff-Raffs (2:03)
20. Governor On the Line (1:09)
21. Need Some Sleep (1:03)
22. Make the First Move (1:20)
23. Lullaby of Birdland – The Don Shirley Trio (2:40)
24. Let’s Roll – The Orange Bird Blues Band (1:48)
25. Backwood Blues – The Orange Bird Blues Band (1:38)
26. The Lonesome Road – The Don Shirley Trio (2:28)
27. Mmm Love – Bob Kelly (2:31)
28. Thanks Officer (0:58)
29. If You Want Me To (1:42)
30. Thank You For the Letters (2:12)
31. The Lonesome Road – Don Shirley (2:23)

  1. Donna McM says:

    Thanks for the info! Do you know the names of the Orange Bird Blues Band musicians?

    • Donna McM says:

      I finally broke down and bought the CD (had already gotten the digital download). It names Don Vappie (guitar), David Pulphus (bass), Khari Allen Lee (sax), Eric Bolivar (drums).