wendy-lisaThe American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) has announced that Wendy Melvoin and Lisa Coleman will be honored with the inaugural Shirley Walker Award at the 29th annual Film & Television Music Awards on Wednesday, June 25th, 2014 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles, CA. The award honors those whose achievements have contributed to the diversity of film and television music. Shirley Walker (Final Destination, Memoirs of an Invisible Man) was the first prominent female film and TV composer. Wendy & Lisa launched their careers in the rock band Prince & The Revolution before pursuing a career path in scoring feature films and television. Their best known credits include the hit drama Dangerous Minds starring Michelle Pfeiffer, as well as the features Soul Food and Something New, and TV shows including Crossing Jordan and Heroes. They received an Emmy Award for the main titles theme for Showtime’s Nurse Jackie in 2010 and were honored with another Emmy nomination for Touch in 2012. The ASCAP Film & Television Music Award will also honor composers of the top box office film music, the most performed television music and the top video game music of 2013.