cinemaaudiosocietyThe Cinema Audio Society has announced the nominees for the 50th Annual CAS Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Sound Mixing. For the past few years, scoring mixers are being recognized alongside production, re-recording, ADR and foley mixers. In the Motion Pictures – Live Action category, the scoring mixers honored include Al Clay for Paul Greengrass’ Captain Phillips (scored by Henry Jackman), Gareth Cousins for Alfonso Cuaron’s Gravity (music by Steven Price), Joel Iwataki for Marvel’s Iron Man 3 (scored by Brian Tyler) and Satoshi Mark Noguchi for Peter Berg’s Lone Survivor (music by Explosions in the Sky & Steve Jablonsky). In the Motion Pictures – Animated category, the nominated scoring mixers are Dennis Sands for DreamWorks Animation’s The Croods (scored by Alan Silvestri), Alan Meyerson for Universal’s Despicable Me 2 (music by Heitor Pereira), Casey Stone for Disney’s Frozen (scored by Christophe Beck), David Boucher for Pixar’s Monsters University (music by Randy Newman) and Rupert Coulson for Walking with Dinosaurs (scored by Paul Leonard-Morgan). In the Television or Mini-Series category, composer James S. Levine received a nomination for his work as a scoring mixer on American Horror Story: Coven, along with Thomas Vicari for Steven Soderbergh’s Behind the Candelabra (music by Marvin Hamlisch), Shawn Murphy for the mini-series Bonnie & Clyde (scored by John Debney) and Chris Fogel for David Mamet’s Phil Spector (music by Marcelo Zarvos). For a full list of nominations, visit the Cinema Audio Society’s official website. The awards will be presented at a sealed envelope dinner on February 22, 2013 in the Crystal Ballroom of the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in Los Angeles.