Scott Starrett has been hired to score the new FOX drama The Mob Doctor. The show created by Josh Berman and Rob Wright stars Jordana Spiro as a doctor torn between the physician’s Hippocratic Oath and her own family’s mob ties. William Forsythe, Jaime Lee Kirchner, James Carpinello, Jesse Lee Soffer and Zach Gilford are co-starring. Michael Dinner (Sons of Anarchy, The Wonder Years) has directed the pilot episode and is executive producing the Sony Pictures Television production with Berman and Wright. Starrett whose previous credits include NBC’s The Event is also collaborating with Berman and Wright on the Lifetime original series Drop Dead Diva, which he has been scoring since its first season in 2009. The Mob Doctor is set to premiere on September 17, 2012 and will be airing every Monday night on FOX. For updates on the drama, visit the official show website.

In related news, Madison Gate Records has announced a new soundtrack album for the Lifetime series Drop Dead Diva. The album features a score suite composed by Scott Starrett, as well as songs from the series by artists including Sugar & The Hi Lows, Katie Herzig, The Parlour Suite, Amy Stroup, Andrew Bell and The Daylights. The soundtrack will be released exclusively on iTunes on September 4, 2012. For audio clips and to pre-order the album, click here. The final episodes of the fourth season of Drop Dead Diva starring Brooke Elliott, Margaret Cho, Jackson Hurst, Kate Levering, April Bowlby and Josh Stamberg currently air Sunday nights on Lifetime. To learn more about the series, visit the official show website.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Think I Said Too Much – Sugar & The Hi Lows
2. The Goldenhand – The Parlour Suite
3. Make A Noise – Katie Herzig
4. Hold Onto Hope Love – Amy Stroup
5. Oh My Stars – Andrew Bell
6. The Last Thing We’ll Ever Do – The Daylights
7. Unchained Melody – Andy Davis
8. The Pie Fell In Love With The Cake – Margaret Cho
9. Drop Dead Diva Suite No. 2 – Scott Starrett