Pitchfork (via The Playlist) has revealed the soundtrack details for Cameron Crowe’s comedy drama We Bought a Zoo. The album features the original music from the movie by Sigur Rós frontman Jónsi who makes his studio feature scoring debut on the project. Also included on the soundtrack are reworked versions of songs from the musician’s 2010 solo album, along with Sigur Rós’s Hoppipolla. Jónsi collaborated with Russell Crowe on one of the tracks and composer Nico Muhly is providing the orchestral arrangements. The soundtrack will be released on December 13, 2011 by Columbia Records and is available for pre-order on Amazon. Check back on this site for audio clips from all tracks on the album. We Bought a Zoo stars Matt Damon, Scarlett Johansson, Elle Fanning, Angus Macfadyen and Thomas Hayden Church. The movie will be released in domestic theaters on December 23. For updates on the film, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the album track list:

01 Why Not
02 Ævin Endar (full new song)
03 Boy Lilikoi (reworked)
04 Sun
05 Brambles
06 Sinking Friendships (reworked)
07 We Bought a Zoo
08 Sigur Rós: “Hoppipolla”
09 Snaerisendar
10 Sink
11 Go Do (reworked)
12 Whole Made of Pieces
13 Humming
14 First Day
15 Gathering Stories (full new song)