The World Soundtrack Academy has announced the nominees for the 2011 World Soundtrack Awards to be presented in three categories: Film Composer of the Year, Best Original Score of the Year and Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film. The names of the winners will be announced at the World Soundtrack Awards & concert on Saturday, October 22, the closing night of the Ghent International Film Festival. Here are the nominations:

Film Composer of the Year

Alexandre Desplat
A Better Life, Tamara Drewe, The Burma Conspiracy, The King’s Speech, The Tree of Life, The Well Digger’s Daughter, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2

Hans Zimmer
Inception, How Do You Know, Megamind, Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, The Dilemma, Rango, Kung Fu Panda 2

Clint Mansell
Black Swan, Faster, Last Night

John Powell
Mars Needs Moms, Rio, Kung Fu Panda 2

Patrick Doyle
La Ligne Droite, Thor, Jig

Best Original Film Score of the Year

Inception – Hans Zimmer
The King’s Speech – Alexandre Desplat
The Social Network – Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross
Black Swan –  Clint Mansell
True Grit – Carter Burwell

Best Original Song written directly for a Film

We Belong Together
from “Toy Story 3”
music & lyrics by Randy Newman
performed by Randy Newman

You Haven’t Seen the Last of Me
from “Burlesque”
music and lyrics by Diane Warren
performed by Cher

Coming Home
from “Country Strong”
music & lyrics by Bob DiPiero, Tom Douglas, Hillary Lindsey and Troy Verges
performed by Gwyneth Paltrow

I See the Light
from “Tangled”
music by Alan Menken
lyrics by Glenn Slater
performed by Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi

If I Rise
from “127 Hours”
music by A.R. Rahman
lyrics by Dido (Dido Armstrong) and Rollo Armstrong
performed by Dido & A.R. Rahman

On Saturday, October 22nd at 8:00p.m., Oscar winners Elliot Goldenthal, Howard Shore, and Hans Zimmer will be the distinguished guests at the closing ceremony of the 38th Ghent Film Festival at the Kuipke in Ghent. Following the annual presentation of the prestigious film music awards, the Brussels Philharmonic – the Orchestra of Flanders – will perform a singular selection from the three great masters’ extensive oeuvres conducted by Dirk Brossé. In keeping with tradition, the winner of last year’s World Soundtrack Discovery Award will take the stage during the awards ceremony. Abel Korzeniowski will perform his award-winning music from A Single Man, which also earned him the Public Choice Award in 2010. As always, the live music will be accompanied by striking film footage. The concert is being dedicated in memory of Ronni Chasen, longtime representative and friend of the film festive

The World Soundtrack Academy was founded in 2001 by the Ghent International Film Festival to celebrate the role of music in film and honor film composers. The WSA Academy now has over 300 international members comprised of composers, film professionals, record label executives and other representatives of the film music business.

At the end of August, the Academy Board will announce the 5 nominees for the category ‘Discovery of the Year 2011’. In addition to the Awards presented by the Academy, film music fans around the world can vote for the best soundtrack of the year (see