Hillman Grand Records & Def Jam Recordings have released a soundtrack album for the documentary Mr. Soul! The album features the original end title song Show Me Your Soul performed by Lalah Hathaway & the film’s composer Robert Glasper (Miles Ahead, The Photograph) and co-written by Hathaway, Glasper, Muhammad Ayers and director Melissa Haizlip. The track was shortlisted in the Original Song category at this year’s Academy Awards. Also included are other songs from and inspired by the movie by artists such as Donny Hathway, Kool and the Gang, The Delfonics, Gladys Knight & The Pips, Patti Labelle and the Bluebelle & others. The soundtrack is now available to stream/download on Amazon and most other major digital music stores. Mr. Soul! is directed by Haizlip and chronicles the legacy of the Ellis Haizlip-produced and -hosted public television variety show SOUL!  that turned a spotlight on the Black Arts Movement . The documentary opened in select (virtual) theaters last year and premiered last month on HBO Max. Visit the official movie website for more information.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. Show Me Your Soul – Lalah Hathaway & Robert Glasper (4:00)
2. The Ghetto – Donny Hathaway (6:49)
3. Express Yourself – Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd. Street Rhythm Band (3:53)
4. Over the Rainbow – Patti Labelle and the Bluebelles (2:53)
5. Grazing in the Grass – Hugh Masekela (2:38)
6. If I Were Your Woman (Single Version) – Gladys Knight & The Pips (3:11)
7. Didn’t I (Blow Your Mind This Time) – The Delfonics (3:22)
8. I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel To Be Free) – Billy Taylor Trio (2:17)
9. Chocolate Buttermilk – Kool and The Gang (2:16)