Jonathan Goldsmith (Away from HerTake This WaltzCasino Jack, Burn Your Maps, Dreamland, Stories We Tell) has composed the original music for the new drama All My Puny Sorrows. The film is written and directed by Michael McGowan (Still Mine, Saint Ralph) and stars Alison Pill, Sarah Gadon, Mare Winningham, Amybeth McNulty and Donal Logue. The movie is based on Miriam Toews’ novel of the same title and revolves around two sisters: a writer who’s tormented by self-doubt and is going through a tough divorce and her a well-known concert pianist whose struggle with depression threaten to consume her. McGowan is also producing the project with Patrice Theroux and Tyler Levine (Trench 11). All My Puny Sorrows is premiering this weekend at the 2021 Toronto International Film Festival.

Goldsmith has also recently scored the drama The Middle Man written and directed by Bent Hamer and starring Pål Sverre Hagen, Tuva Novotny, Paul Gross, Nina Andresen Borud, Don McKellar and Rossif Sutherland. The movie, which follows a man who has the job of breaking the worst news to the citizens in a town plagued by disaster, is also premiering at this year’s Toronto Film Festival.