Lakeshore Records will release a soundtrack album for the spy thriller The Courier. The album features the film’s original music composed by Golden Globe Award nominee Abel Korzeniowski (A Single Man, Nocturnal Animals, W.E., The Nun, Romeo and Juliet, Escape from Tomorrow). The soundtrack will be released digitally tomorrow, March 19 and will be available to stream/download on Amazon and any other major digital music service. The Courier is directed by Dominic Cooke and stars Benedict Cumberbatch, Merab Ninidze, Rachel Brosnahan and Jessie Buckley. The movie tells the true story of an unassuming British businessman who, at the behest of the UK’s MI-6 and a CIA operative, forms a covert partnership with a Soviet officer in an effort to provide crucial intelligence needed to prevent a nuclear confrontation and defuse the Cuban Missile Crisis. The thriller premiered at last year’s Sundance Film Festival (under the title Ironbark) and is being released in theaters nationwide this weekend by Roadside Attractions.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. Spies and Typewriters (2:23)
2. Iron Curtain (2:22)
3. First Contact (2:01)
4. Greville (1:34)
5. Secret Meeting (2:15)
6. Prelude (1:30)
7. It Has to Be You (3:06)
8. Eyes of the State (2:07)
9. Cigarettes (2:08)
10. Cuban Missiles (1:05)
11. One Last Trip to Moscow (4:02)
12. I Have a Light Day (1:18)
13. Trenchcoats vs. KGB (3:04)
14. Arrested (2:25)
15. Cold Soup (2:11)
16. Breakdown (1:32)
17. When You Come Home (1:04)
18. Maybe We Are Only Two People (4:40)

  1. Chris says:

    The similarity between Korzeniowski’s “It Has To Be You” and Shostakovitch’s Jazz Suite No. 1, Movement 7, Waltz No. 2 in C Minor and E Flat Major (1957) is so strong that it really cannot be called an original composition. Without crediting Shostakovich, this is blatant plagiarism.

  2. Jay Forde says:

    That’s what I think, too.

  3. Doreen witts says:

    @chris ..Totally agree with you I have copies of both scores and I cannot understand why shostakovish was not given any credit for his part in this.

  4. Juliette says:

    thank you so so much! it tortured me, and i couldn’t find the way to the original. a shame, since i grew up listening to Shostakovitch. what a relief!

  5. Reuben Lane says:

    This is a Lakeshore CD but my question is what is the catalogue number of the CD?