Hildur Guðnadóttir was named Film Composer of the Year at the 20th World Soundtrack Awards, tonight’s closing event of the 47th Ghent Film Festival, for her score for Todd Phillips’ Joker, for which she also earned an Academy Award and Golden Globe earlier this year. She previously received the World Soundtrack Award in the TV Composer of the Year category last year. Last year’s Film Composer of the Year winner Nicholas Britell was selected as TV Composer of the Year today for his score for the second season of HBO’s Succession. Stand Up from Kasi Lemmon’s Harriet (written by Joshuah Brian Campbell & Cynthia Erivo) was named Best Original Song. Bryce Dessner was honored in the Discovery of the Year category for his score for Fernando Mereilles’ The Two Popes. The Public Choice Award went to composer Alfonso G. Aguilal for his score for the Netflix animated film Klaus. In addition, the SABAM Award for Best Young Composer went to Ana Kasrashvili and Hannes De Maeyer won the WSAward for Best Original Score for a Belgian Production for his score for Sven Huybrechts’ Torpedo. As previously announced, Gabriel Yared (The English Patient, The Talented Mr. Ripley, City of Angels) received the Lifetime Achievement Award

  1. Ethan Anania says:

    Jesus hell, does her score for Joker have to win every damn award that it was nominated for……. >_<

    • Joe B. says:

      Ethan forgot to put quotation marks around the word score.